Starred Reviews for Chukwuebuka Ibeh, Mateo Askaripour, Marcela Fuentes, Emily Henry, and more!

By Kate McManus | June 6 2024 | Starred Reviews

With starred reviews from publications including Booklist, Library Journal, and AudioFile — your patrons will want to read these much-anticipated books that reviewers are raving about.

Fiction

Blessings
A Novel

“Chukwuebuka Ibeh enters the literary world with a searing debut about self, family, and community… Blessings is gripping, multifaceted, and poignant.” —Booklist, starred review


This Great Hemisphere
A Novel

“A stunning and compelling work of social justice speculative fiction from Askaripour.” —Library Journal, starred review


Malas
A Novel

“Both strong women prevail through the power of comadrazgo (sisterhood) in this triumphant novel that lyrically portrays the costumbres (customs) of a border culture starkly different from the one seen on today’s news.” —Booklist, starred review


Audiobooks

Knife
Meditations After an Attempted Murder

“In a book that begins with such incomprehensible violence, Rushdie’s new memoir is a restorative antidote; that Rushdie himself narrates adds gravitas, yes, but also a surprising layer of utter charm.” —Booklist Starred Review


Funny Story

“Whelan expresses the story’s sorrow,
grief, love, and humor with precision and grace. This is a performance listeners won’t soon forget. Highly recommended for fans of Whelan and Henry.” —Booklist Starred Review


There's Always This Year
On Basketball and Ascension

“Hanif Abdurraqib’s latest book is a transcendent feat of poetry, memoir, and–well, magic. His narration is as breathless and beautiful as his prose; this book is epic in every sense of the word.” —AudioFile Earphones Award Winner