Overheard at our May Morning Book Buzz: What Librarians (and our Staff!) are Excited to Read

By Jennifer Rubins | May 15 2024 | Morning Book BuzzStaff Picks

We love discussing our darling books of May. . . (and also, well, every month’s reading picks) but our book lists are certainly in full bloom right now.

Whether or not you joined our May Morning Book Buzz, you can still join our What Are You Reading? conversation! Here’s what our hosts are reading and listening to this month:

The Frozen River Kelly selected THE FROZEN RIVER by Ariel Lawhon. . . “which I absolutely loved. It was incredible historical fiction. I highly recommend it for book clubs. We actually just talked about it in my book club last night—it was a great discussion.” And being the overachiever reader she is, Kelly also surprised us with an additional staff pick, THE CLIFFS by J. Courtney Sullivan: “I always love [her] books and I’m really interested to see how this one ends.”

The Husbands audiobook cover Sharnell just finished listening to THE HUSBANDS by Holly Gramazio, read by Miranda Raison (available on both CD and audio download). She didn’t know what to expect but says “I absolutely loved it. . . it really surprised me. . . I definitely recommend this one for sure.”

Like Mother, Like Daughter cover Rachel is reading LIKE MOTHER, LIKE DAUGHTER by Kimberly McCreight “it’s a suspense thriller and perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Jodi Picoult.” Rachel loved meeting the author at PLA and encourages you to check it out and vote for LibraryReads! (It’s Hall of Fame eligible!)

Scroll below to see some more books that our librarian Morning Book Buzz audience was buzzing about in the comments of our May episode!

Librarians Are Reading. . .

The Full Moon Coffee Shop
A Novel
Translated from the Japanese bestseller, this charming and magical novel, inspired by the myth of cats returning favors to those who care for them, reminds us that it's never too late to follow our stars.

Lady Macbeth
A Novel
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Ava Reid comes a reimagining of Lady Macbeth, Shakespeare’s most famous villainess, giving her a voice, a past, and a power that transforms the story men have written for her.

By Any Other Name
A Novel
From the New York Times bestselling co-author of Mad Honey comes a new novel about two women, centuries apart—one of whom is the real author of Shakespeare’s plays—who are both forced to hide behind another name.

Entitlement
A Novel
A novel of money and morality from the New York Times bestselling author of Leave the World Behind