Announcing the June 2024 LibraryReads List

By Rachel Tran | May 15 2024 | NewsLibraryReads

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the June 2024 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Listen to Audiobook Clips Here.


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the July LibraryReads list ends 6/1!

Check out which July titles we’re loving.

TOP TEN LIST

Love Letters to a Serial Killer

“Twisty denouements abound in this psychological suspense about a woman falling for a suspected serial killer as she corresponds with him in jail. The author is able to depict the questionable choices of a down-on-her-luck woman who naively becomes entangled with a dangerous man. This is a darkly humorous, sexy, and entertaining thriller.” —Andrienne Cruz, Azusa City Library, CA

NoveList read-alike: I Told You This Would Happen by Elaine Murphy


Same As It Ever Was
A Novel

“Julia is in her late fifties and seemingly has it all, but a chance meeting with an old acquaintance quickly uncovers the fissures in her carefully constructed existence. Lombardo skillfully moves back and forth in Julia’s life with an incredible gift for writing seemingly mundane but charged moments in her characters’ lives.” —Alisa Stanfield, LibraryReads Ambassador, IL

NoveList read-alike: Marrying the Ketchups by Jennifer Close


Shelterwood
A Novel

“In this emotional dual narrative, National Parks Ranger Val is determined to solve a mystery surrounding the recently uncovered gravesite of three children. Shifting to the early 1900s, the narrative expands to expose the abuse of Choctaw children and feature the women crusading against illegal child labor at the dawn of Oklahoma’s statehood.”—Erin Downey Howerton, Wichita Public Library, KS

NoveList read-alike: Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline


HALL OF FAME

Winter Lost
Mercy Thompson, car mechanic and shapeshifter, must stop a disaster of world-shattering proportions in this exhilarating entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling series.

The Next Mrs. Parrish
A Novel
Daphne Parrish and the newly minted Mrs. Amber Patterson Parrish are thrust back into each other’s lives, forcing a vicious game of cat and mouse where everything is on the line.

Not in Love
A forbidden, secret affair proves that all’s fair in love and science—from New York Times bestselling author Ali Hazelwood.

Incidents Around the House
A Novel
A chilling horror novel about a haunting told from the perspective of a young girl whose troubled family is targeted by an entity she calls “Other Mommy,” from the New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box

Summer Romance
“A BINGEABLE FIVE-STAR READ.” —ABBY JIMENEZ, New York Times bestselling author of Yours TrulyThe romantic and hilarious story of a professional organizer whose life is a mess, and the summer she gets unstuck with the help of someone unexpected from her past, by the bestselling author of Nora Goes Off Script. “I loved it—brims with heart, wit, and longing.” — CARLEY FORTUNE, #1 New York Times bestselling authorBenefits of a summer romance: It’s always fun, always brief, and no one gets their heart broken.Ali Morris is a professional organizer whose own life is a mess. Her mom died two years ago, then her husband left, and she hasn’t worn pants with a zipper in longer than she cares to remember.No one is more surprised than Ali when the first time she takes off her wedding ring and puts on pants with hardware—overalls count, right?—she meets someone. Or rather, her dog claims a man for her...by peeing on him. Ethan smiles at Ali like her pants are just right—like he likes what he sees. He looks at her like she’s a younger, braver version of herself. The last thing newly single mom Ali needs is to make her life messier, but there’s no harm in a little summer romance. Is there?

A Novel Love Story
A professor of literature finds herself caught up in a work of fiction…literally, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Seven Year Slip and The Dead Romantics.

Middle of the Night
A Novel
In the latest jaw-dropping thriller from New York Times bestselling author Riley Sager, a man must contend with the long-ago disappearance of his childhood best friend—and the dark secrets lurking just beyond the safe confines of his picture-perfect neighborhood.

Husbands & Lovers
A Novel
Two women—separated by decades and continents, and united by an exotic family heirloom—reclaim secrets and lost loves in this sweeping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer Wives.

BONUS PICK

One of Our Kind
A novel
A hotly-anticipated and endlessly provocative new thriller of race and privilege set in an all-Black gated community from #1 New York Times best-selling author Nicola Yoon • "Brilliant...Your book club will be discussing this one for DAYS.”—Jodi Picoult