Announcing the December LibraryReads List

By Rachel Tran | November 15 2023 | NewsLibraryReads

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the December 2023 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Listen to Audiobook Clips Here.


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the January LibraryReads list ends 12/1!

Check out which January titles we’re loving.

TOP PICK

Raiders of the Lost Heart

“Dr. Corrie’s professional dream has come true: she’s been invited on an archaeological dig to uncover an Aztec mystery. But there’s one big catch. Her longtime rival, Dr. Ford, is the lead on the expedition. As they become better acquainted, their animosity transforms into an undeniable attraction—that is, until the truth behind Ford’s motivations comes to light. Will they be able to find their happily ever after? This thrilling and steamy debut will appeal to fans of adventurous romances.”—Migdalia Jimenez, Chicago Public Library, IL

NoveList read-alike: Do Your Worst by Rosie Danan


The Couple in the Photo

“Lucy’s perfect life crumbles when she sees a photo of her best friend on a romantic vacation with someone who isn’t his wife. When she tells her husband, he tells her she must be mistaken and to leave it alone. Soon, the woman Lucy saw in the photo is found dead, making Lucy wonder if it’s all in her head or if her husband is keeping something from her. Readers will be sucked into this well-written, fast-paced, twisty tale.”—Sarrah Knight, Newton Public Library, IA

NoveList read-alike: Just the Nicest Couple by Mary Kubica


The Fake Mate

“This paranormal rom-com follows two wolf shifters living in the human world, navigating the immense amount of shifter stereotypes to survive in the cutthroat world of medicine. Ferguson takes an interesting approach, creating a world where shifters are known—and for the most part, accepted—in society. Mack and Noah circle each other through the novel, fighting the pull of nature and attempting to navigate a relationship that is both fake and real.”—Zoe Sucu, East Kingston Public Library, NH

NoveList read-alike: Not the Witch You Wed by April Asher


Familia
A Riveting and Unforgettable Novel of Sisterhood

“Gabby takes a DNA test and finds out she has a sister in Puerto Rico, and Isabella is convinced Gabby is her lost sister. The mystery of finding out what really happened, while switching between different perspectives and the rich characters, will keep readers intrigued. Puerto Rico in all its complexity is just as much a character. This is a great book club pick that explores what family and sisterhood means.”—Michelle Morris, Fort Worth Public Library, TX

NoveList read-alike: The Berry Pickers by Amanda Peters


This Spells Love
A Novel

“Gemma just broke up with her ex, so her aunt, sister, and best friend Dax help her perform a love cleanse. Suddenly, she wakes up in another timeline where Dax doesn’t know who she is! Though now she has her own store, she wants to get back to her own reality. Or can she have Dax here as something more than a friend? Readers of Lana Harper’s Witches of Thistle Grove series will love this.”— Jessica C. Williams, Cleveland Public Library, OH

NoveList read-alike: The Good Part by Sophie Cousens


HALL OF FAME

Technically Yours
Seven years ago, he fell in love with a stranger he couldn’t have—today, she’s back in his life and the sparks between them threaten to set her career on fire.

The Frozen River
A GMA Book Club Pick
GMA BOOK CLUB PICK • AN NPR BOOK OF THE YEAR • From the New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia and Code Name Hélène comes a gripping historical mystery inspired by the life and diary of Martha Ballard, a renowned 18th-century midwife who defied the legal system and wrote herself into American history."Fans of Outlander’s Claire Fraser will enjoy Lawhon’s Martha, who is brave and outspoken when it comes to protecting the innocent. . . impressive."—The Washington Post"Once again, Lawhon works storytelling magic with a real-life heroine." —People Magazine

The Gentleman's Gambit
Bookish suffragist Catriona Campbell is busy: An ailing estate, academic writer’s block, and a tense time for England’s women’s rights campaign—the last thing she needs is to be stuck playing host to her father’s distractingly attractive young colleague.