Announcing the October 2023 LibraryReads List

By Rachel Mann | September 15 2023 | NewsLibraryReads

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the October 2023 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Listen to Audiobook Clips Here.


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the November LibraryReads list ends 9/1!

Check out which November titles we’re loving.

 

Iris Kelly Doesn't Date
A fake relationship after a horrible one-night stand is anything but an act in this witty and heartfelt new romantic comedy by Ashley Herring Blake.

The Burnout
A Novel
Sparks fly in this delightful novel about two burned out professionals who meet at ramshackle resort on the British seaside–from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Party Crasher.

Better Hate than Never

“Neighbors Kate and Christopher grew up together and over the years, snarky comments and shenanigans ensue until Kate flees home. When she returns years later, the animosity between them hasn’t waned. With their families begging for peace, they determine they need to get along. Which they do…too well. Readers will find watching them fall in love to be nothing short of magical.”—Taylor Banze, St. Charles City-County Library, MO

NoveList read-alike: Kiss Me Catalina by Priscilla Oliveras


The Unmaking of June Farrow
A Novel

“When her grandmother dies, June worries about falling prey to the family curse of hallucinations, which stole the sanity of her mother and grandmother. When a door opens leading to the past, June learns more about her family and discovers unexpected truths about herself—and her place in time.”—Nanette Donohue, Champaign Public Library, IL

NoveList read-alike: The Invisible Life of Addie Larue by V.E. Schwab


West Heart Kill
A novel

“In this twist on the trope of a locked room mystery, a private eye is trapped in an exclusive hunting cabin in the Adirondacks during a major storm with three dead bodies, while finding he is as much a suspect as the rest of the elite set of guests. A great original debut!”— Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library. NJ

NoveList read-alike: The Word is Murder by Anthony Horowitz


Straw Dogs of the Universe
A Novel
Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medals of ExcellenceWinner of the Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) Best Book AwardA harrowing and redemptive immigrant story for readers of PachinkoA Chinese railroad worker and his young daughter—sold into servitude—in 19th century California search for family, fulfillment, and belonging in a violent new land