Announcing the May 2024 LibraryReads List

By Rachel Tran | April 16 2024 | NewsLibraryReads

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the May 2024 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Listen to Audiobook Clips Here.


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the June LibraryReads list ends 5/1!

Check out which June titles we’re loving.

TOP TEN LIST

Daughters of Shandong

“At times both heartbreaking and uplifting, this novel follows the journey of the women of the Ang family from their farm in rural China to Taiwan during the horrific land reforms of 1948-1950. With this story based on Chung’s grandmother’s experience of a turbulent era, readers will be riveted from page one by the mother/daughter bonds and their will to survive.”—Martha DiVittorio, Bellmore Memorial Library, NY

NoveList read-alike: A Woman of Pleasure by Kiyoko Murata


This Summer Will Be Different

“Filled with emotional moments as well as fun and flirty scenes, this wonderful story set in picturesque Prince Edward Island is about friendships and found family. More than a love story, this novel has a lot that readers will relate to, including friendship and family. A perfect steamy romance book for the summer.”—Karen Troutman, LibraryReads Ambassador

NoveList read-alike: How To Marry Keanu Reeves in 90 Days by K.M. Jackson


Lies and Weddings
A Novel

“Arabella Leung is doing everything she can to match her son Rufus to a very wealthy titled woman in this romp around the world with controlling parents, one of whom is desperately matchmaking to save the family estate. Readers who love high entertainment and the bad behavior of the haves and the have-even-mores will devour this wild ride.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, TX

NoveList read-alike: Family Trust by Kathy Wang


The Hazelbourne Ladies Motorcycle and Flying Club
A Novel

“Constance, companion to an elderly woman, meets Poppy, a young woman trying to start a business for women motorcycle riders. Constance gets drawn into the circle of friendship and independence the motorcycle ladies enjoy. Readers will love the characters, the setting, and the portrayal of life after The Great War.”—Linda Quinn, LibraryReads Ambassador

NoveList read-alike: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer


HALL OF FAME

Love at First Book
A librarian moves to a quaint Irish village to work for her favorite novelist, only to fall for the author’s prickly bookseller son, as their story becomes one for the books, from the New York Times bestselling author of Summer Reading.

The Guncle Abroad
An Indie Next PickPatrick O'Hara is called back to his guncle duties . . . This time for a big family wedding in Italy.