hist-fic-wwii
What We're Reading

From love stories to heartbreaking tales, these historical fiction novels set during World War II are sure to entertain your patrons while also educating them about that tumultuous period. Click for More World War II Historical Fiction.   Want more content like this? Click below to subscribe to our weekly eNewsletter to discover the hottest […]

9780525511779
What We're Reading

The funny, sad, super-honest, all-true story of Chelsea Handler’s year of self-discovery—featuring a nerdily brilliant psychiatrist, a shaman, four Chow Chows, some well-placed security cameras, various family members (living and departed), friends, assistants, and a lot of edibles. In a haze of vape smoke on a rare windy night in L.A. in the fall of […]

9780525535928
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

“Beautifully written. . . . Full of insight into the nature of tragedy, love, and redemption.” –Garth Stein A gorgeously written, tender, and wise novel about love and forgiveness in 1960s Australia, in which a lonely farmer finds his life turned upside down by the arrival of a vibrant librarian. Can one unlikely bookshop heal […]

ala-prh-award
Book Extras

This past weekend, the American Library Association (ALA) Council announced the debut of the Penguin Random House Library Award for Innovation Through Adversity, an exciting new partnership created to support the librarians and staff at libraries nationwide. Through this program, a principal awardee will receive $10,000 in cash and four runners-up will receive $1,000 each. The […]

regpage_smallcarnegie19
Book Extras

Carnegie Selection Committee members Annie Bostrom and Susan Maguire along with Booklist Adult Books Editor Donna Seaman had an hour-long conversation about the six books shortlisted for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction (Francisco Cantú’s The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border, Kiese Laymon’s Heavy: An American Memoir, Beth Macy’s Dopesick: Dealers, […]

9780525538141
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

In this propulsive, twist-filled, and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever. For the past two weeks, seventeen-year-old Kate Bennet has lived against her will in an isolated cabin in a remote beach town–brought there by […]