Print
Book Extras

Library of America announces a new national public humanities program offering $1,200 grants to libraries, museums, and nonprofit cultural institutions to host public programs. Lift Every Voice is dedicated to enhancing appreciation of the African American poetic tradition and its imaginative range and richness. Its principal objective is to engage participants in a multifaceted exploration of the tradition, […]

library-innovation-award
Book Extras

Applications are now open for the Penguin Random House Library Award for Innovation. Now presented in conjunction with the American Library Association, the annual award recognizes U.S. libraries and librarians who create lasting innovative community service programs that successfully inspire and connect with new readers. The award consists of a $10,000 cash prize, and is […]

9780593100066
What We're Reading

Mothers never forget. Daughters never forgive. In her compulsive, sharply-drawn debut, Stephanie Wrobel peels back the layers of the most complicated of mother-daughter relationships. For the first eighteen years of her life, Rose Gold Watts believed she was seriously ill. She was allergic to everything, used a wheelchair and practically lived at the hospital. Neighbors […]

9780385348713-2
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Devil in the White City and Dead Wake delivers a fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz On Winston Churchill’s first day as prime minister, Adolf Hitler invaded Holland and Belgium. Poland and Czechoslovakia had already fallen, and the Dunkirk evacuation was just two weeks away. For […]

9780593098400-1
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High—the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle—and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts. When a devoted teacher comes under pressure for […]

9781524746025-d_the_girl_with_the_louding_voice
Uncategorized

A powerful, emotional debut novel told in the unforgettable voice of a young Nigerian woman who is trapped in a life of servitude but determined to get an education so that she can escape and choose her own future. “A bold new storyteller…Abi Daré’s fearless debut is a celebration of girls who dare to dream […]