only-child
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

For fans of Room and the novels of Jodi Picoult, a dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children, narrated by a six-year-old boy who reminds us that sometimes the littlest bodies hold the biggest hearts, and the quietest voices speak the loudest. Here, Rhiannon Navin explains how the idea for her first novel […]

patriot-number-one
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

Patriot Number One is the deeply reported story of one indelible family transplanted from rural China to New York City, forging a life between two worlds. With a novelist’s eye for character and detail, Lauren Hilgers captures the joys and indignities of starting from scratch in a new country—and the stubborn allure of the American dream. […]

white-houses
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

On December 1st we hosted our fourth Open Book Event, a tristate program of book buzzes, panels, and presentations by four incredible authors. Today, we’re highlighting Amy Blooms’s talk about her new novel White Houses. For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok. From Washington, D.C. to […]

9780735214347_33c8c
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

The celebrated author (whom The Boston Globe compared to Anne Tyler) of The Myth of You and Me explores an untraditional love story through the lens of a character actor who must finally become the hero of her own story. After a series of missteps in the face of his newfound fame, actor Charlie Outlaw flees to a remote […]

9780399584466
From the Author

Check out the video below from bestselling author David Bell, who explains how much libraries have played a part in his life and his career as an author. His newest novel Somebody’s Daughter is a pulse-racing suspense in which the life of a little girl rests in the hands of the father who never even knew she existed. Click to Watch […]

miriamdeweysbiomemoir
What We're Reading

This month, we’re focusing on the biography section of the library. Among the 100 featured titles include the critically acclaimed works of Joan Didion, Robert A. Caro, and Ron Chernow, the engaging travelogues of Frances Mayes and Cheryl Strayed, Marjane Satrapi’s graphic novel memoirs, and the evocative stories of performance artist Marina Abramovic and country […]