What Are We Reading? Summer Staff Picks

By Rachel Tran | June 27 2024 | Staff PicksNewsGeneral

PRH Library Marketing is celebrating hot book summer with these staff picks. Which will you read next?

Rachel's Pick

Things Don't Break on Their Own
A Novel
“This is the one: the next must-read, must-recommend, must-discuss, must-re-read novel. A miraculous literary thriller, shocking, daring, moving, haunting, infinitely rewarding— as though Kate Atkinson and Ruth Rendell had joined forces.”—A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window and End of StoryA heart-wrenching mystery about sisters, lovers, and a dinner party gone wrong.

Miriam's Pick

Thus Waves Come in Pairs
Thinking with the Mediterraneans
Reflections on the Mediterraneans, their interconnected cultures and bodies of sweet and salty water, and the possibilities of narrating their current transformations.

Jen R.'s Pick

Jackpot Summer

Read by Thérèse Plummer

After the Jacobson siblings win a life-changing fortune in the lottery, they assume their messy lives will transform into sleek, storybook perfection–but they couldn’t be more wrong.

USA Today bestseller
A Skimm Reads Pick
She Reads – Most Anticipated Contemporary Fiction 2024

 


Sharnell's Pick

Not You Again
Married at First Sight meets The Ex Talk in this heartfelt yet sexy second-chance romance debut in which one couple must decide if they can overcome their past for a chance at happily ever after, perfect for fans of One to Watch.

Kelly's Pick

Summer After Summer
A Novel
A woman returns to her family's Hamptons beach house for a final time—and a final chance at the love she's lost before, in this contemporary retelling of Persuasion, perfect for fans of Emily Henry and Rebecca Serle.

Maureen's Pick

The Wisdom of Sheep
Observations from a Family Farm
“Elegiac, funny, warm and wise, The Wisdom of Sheep will delight country folk and city dwellers alike.” —Katherine MayA touching, wise and surprising chronicle of the rich inner lives of animals, drawn from Rosamund Young’s extraordinary lifetime as an organic farmer

Valeria's Pick

She Who Knows
Part science fiction, part fantasy, and entirely infused with West African culture and spirituality, this novella offers an intimate glimpse into the life of a teenager whose coming of age will herald a new age for her world. Set in the universe Africanfuturist luminary Nnedi Okorafor first introduced in the World Fantasy Award-winning Who Fears Death, this is the first in the She Who Knows trilogy

Elizabeth's Pick

The Next Mrs. Parrish
A Novel
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • CBS NEW YORK BOOK CLUB PICK • Daphne and Amber Parrish are thrust back into each other’s lives upon the resurgence of a long-forgotten threat, forcing a vicious game of cat and mouse where everything is on the line, in this thrilling sequel to the million-copy-bestselling Reese’s Book Club pick The Last Mrs. Parrish. “Delicious and shocking, The Next Mrs. Parrish is an incredibly entertaining and compulsive tale of revenge and deception you won’t want to miss.”—Jeneva Rose, New York Times bestselling author of You Shouldn’t Have Come Here