Announcing the March 2024 LibraryReads List

By Rachel Tran | February 15 2024 | NewsLibraryReads

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the March 2024 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Listen to Audiobook Clips Here.


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the April LibraryReads list ends 3/1!

Check out which April titles we’re loving.

TOP PICK

How to Solve Your Own Murder
A Novel

“It’s 1965, and Frances is at a country fair with her friends when she ducks into a fortune teller’s tent and is given a fortune that predicts her murder. She then becomes obsessed with figuring out who will murder her. Many years later, when she sends for her great-niece, she starts a race against time for her murder to be solved. This novel is original, witty, and a real page-turner.”—Linda Quinn, LibraryReads Ambassador
NoveList read-alike: One Puzzling Afternoon by Emily Critchley


TOP TEN LIST

James
A Novel

“In this superb counterpoint to Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, we get the point of view of the enslaved character Jim. Through Jim’s eyes, readers experience many of the familiar events from Twain’s novel. However, this narrative reveals more details and realities of the horrible state of slavery. With added storylines of Jim’s humor and family dedication, this book stands out as an illuminating addition to the American classic.”—MarySue Waterman, Westport Library, CT
NoveList read-alike: Demon Copperhead by Barbara Kingsolver


Happily Never After

“Sophie Steinbeck finds out that her fiancé has cheated on her and wants to end the wedding. She hires a Professional Objector, Max, whose whole purpose is to show up and yell “I object!” When Sophie joins his team, they realize they are attracted to one another. What a funny, sweet, and hot romcom! Definite stars for Sophie’s elderly roommates!”—Joy K., Free Library of Philadelphia, PA
NoveList read-alike: Tastes Like Shakkar by Nisha Sharma


Swift and Saddled
A Rebel Blue Ranch Novel

“The second book in the Rebel Blue Ranch series is a swoony and sweet small-town romance. Readers who like found family, emotionally intelligent couples, and just overall cuteness will look forward to more in this quick-read cowboy romance.”—Yentl Diego, Smith Public Library, TX
NoveList read-alike: The Cowboy Whisperer by Sabrina Sol


The Other Side of Disappearing
A Touching Modern Love Story

“Four lives collide: two sisters whose mother deserted them 10 years ago to run off with a con man, a podcaster working on the case, and a journalist with a mission. The mystery—where did their mom go?—meshes neatly with the group’s clashing goals as they follow the woman’s trail across the country. This beautifully written novel is a thoughtful look at the many faces of love.”—Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, NY
NoveList read-alike: Love in the Time of Serial Killers by Alicia Thompson


HALL OF FAME

The Princess of Las Vegas
A Novel
One of Elle’s Best and Most Anticipated Mysteries of 2024 • THE PRINCESS IS FAKE. THE MURDERS ARE REAL • From the New York Times bestselling author of The Flight Attendant and The Lioness, a Princess Diana impersonator and her estranged sister find themselves drawn into a dangerous game of money and murder in this twisting tale of organized crime, cryptocurrency, and family secrets on the Las Vegas strip.

The Hunter
A Novel
A New York Times Bestseller • A New York Times Best Thriller of the Year (So Far) • An NPR Favorite Fiction Read of 2024 • A Parade Best Book of 2024 So Far • Named a Best Beach Read of 2024 by Entertainment Tonight and Harper’s Bazaar “Hailed as the queen of Irish crime fiction, French spins a taut tale of retribution, sacrifice, and family.”—TIMEFrom the New York Times bestselling author of The Searcher and “one of the greatest crime novelists writing today” (Vox), a spellbinding new novel set in the Irish countryside.

A Grave Robbery
Veronica and Stoker discover that not all fairy tales have happy endings, and some end in murder, in this latest historical mystery from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award–nominated author Deanna Raybourn.

The Underground Library
A Novel
When the Blitz imperils the heart of a London neighborhood, three young women must use their fighting spirit to save the community’s beloved library in this heartwarming novel based on true events from the author of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

The Truth about the Devlins
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER USA Today BestsellerLisa Scottoline, the #1 bestselling author of What Happened to the Bennetts, presents another pulse-pounding domestic thriller about family, justice, and the lies that tear us apart.

Murder Road
A young couple find themselves haunted by a string of gruesome murders committed along an old deserted road in this terrifying new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Cold Cases.

BONUS PICK

There's Always This Year
On Basketball and Ascension
A poignant, personal reflection on basketball, talent and allegiance, and of course, LeBron James—from the author of the National Book Award finalist A Little Devil in America