Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the January 2023 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your January Readers’ Advisory.

Learn About the LibraryReads Picks on Audio Here.


TOP PICK:

Georgie, All Along by Kate Clayborn

With writing Jasmine Guillory has described as “emotional and real,” the acclaimed author of Love Lettering and Love at First weaves stories both transporting and relatable—modern love stories that readers immediately identify with and take to heart. Wise and witty, threaded through with a complex, emotionally fulfilling romance, Kate Clayborn’s unforgettable new novel echoes with timely questions about love, career, reconciling with the past, and finding your way.

“When Georgie suddenly loses her job as a personal assistant, she heads home to her parents to regroup. While there, she comes across a teenage diary and uses it to explore her life. This is a sweet, fun novel about a genuine, competent person trying to discover her true self. For fans of The Authenticity Project.”—Julie Heckert, Orem Public Library, Orem, UT

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes


Back in a Spell by Lana Harper

An awkward first date leads to a sparkling romance between one of the most powerful witches in town and a magical newbie in this rom-com by Lana Harper, New York Times bestselling author of Payback’s a Witch.

“Witch Nina Blackmoore must decide who she is and what matters most when her rocky
date with “normie” Morty Gutierrez results in a magical bond between the two. With solid pacing, tremendous feats of magic, and a sweet and passionate romance, this third installment of the Thistle Grove series will knock your socks off. For fans of Ann Aguirre.”— Shannon Collins, Upper Dublin Public Library, Fort Washington, PA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: A Letter to Three Witches by Elizabeth Bass


Bad Cree: A Novel by Jessica Johns

In this gripping, horror-laced debut, a young Cree woman’s dreams lead her on a perilous journey of self-discovery that ultimately forces her to confront the toll of a legacy of violence on her family, her community and the land they call home.

“When Mackenzie’s nightmares start to bleed into her waking hours, she knows that she’ll need to return to family to get the help she needs. First Nations author Johns creates a unique combination of cryptid terror and family strength in the face of horror and trauma. For readers of Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Eden Robinson.”—Erin Downey Howerton, Wichita Public Library, Wichita, KS

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: White Horse by Erika T. Wurth


The Bandit Queens: A Novel by Parini Shroff

A young Indian woman finds the false rumors that she killed her husband surprisingly useful—until other women in the village start asking for her help getting rid of their own husbandsin this razor-sharp debut.

“An amazing debut novel about a group of women who are part of a micro-loan community in an Indian village. Everyone thinks Geeta has killed her no-good, rotten, abusive husband, so the other women want her to kill their husbands too. A story full of humor, pathos, and suspense.”—Ariel Zeitlin, Montclair Public Library, Montclair, NJ

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithewaite


Emily Wilde’s Encyclopaedia of Faeries: Book One of the Emily Wilde Series by Heather Fawcett

A curmudgeonly professor journeys to a small town in the far north to study faerie folklore, where she discovers dark fae magic, friendship, and love, in this heart-warming and enchanting fantasy.

“Grumpy professor Emily Wilde wishes that she did not have to ‘people’ while researching the first complete encyclopedia of faeries. However, a handsome rival and some quirky townsfolk conspire to crack open Emily’s well-guarded heart. Readers will be enchanted with the Fae and cantankerous narrator found in this fantasy tale, like a cozy version of the Lady Trent series.”—Jenna Zarzycki, King County Library System, Covington, WA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness


Exes and O’s  by Amy Lea

A romance novel-obsessed social media influencer revisits her exes on her hunt for true love in this romantic comedy from the author of Set On You.

“Tara Chen believes one of her 10 exes must be her true love, so she enlists new roommate Trevor to help her reconnect with all of them. Cleverly written with all the tropes found in romance novels, but especially second-chance romance. Recommended for anyone wanting a feel-good story with a delightful heroine and handsome love interest! For Jayci Lee and Jackie Lau fans.”—Elizabeth Qualls, Blackwater Regional Library, Courtland, VA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Singles’ Table by Sara Desai


The House in the Pines: A Novel  by Ana Reyes

A shocking debut thriller about the subtlety of memory and manipulation, in which a young woman must find her way back to a New England cabin, armed with only hazy, haunting memories, to finally uncover the truth that could save her.

Maya sees a viral video of a woman in a diner dropping dead while seated across from her boyfriend. Maya knows this man, as years ago her friend also died suddenly in front of him. Reyes keeps readers guessing, creating a wonderfully sinister undertone while enriching the suspense by incorporating elements of Guatemala’s history. For fans of Behind Her Eyes.”—Blinn Sheffield, Greenwood-Leflore Public Library, Greenwood, MS

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Sundown Motel by Simone St. James


HALL OF FAME:

How to Sell a Haunted House by Grady Hendrix

New York Times bestselling author Grady Hendrix takes on the haunted house in a hilarious and terrifying new novel that explores the way your past—and your family—can haunt you like nothing else….
“When the reading of a will reveals that Louise’s family estate was left to her brother, known for sinking cash into get-rich-quick schemes, Louise protests, leading to a torrent of otherworldly happenings. Hendrix ramps up the tension until you feel like your nerves are guitar strings ready to snap.”—Stephanie McKenna, Horsham Township
Library, Horsham, PA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Shadow Glass by Joshua Winning


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the February LibraryReads list ends 1/1!

Check out which February titles we’re loving.

Announcing the January LibraryReads List

Category: Awards
0
517 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *