With starred reviews from publications including Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, and Library Journal—your patrons will want to read these much-anticipated books that reviewers are raving about.


FICTION


The Bandit Queens by Parini Shroff.

“Shroff’s debut is a darkly hilarious take on gossip, caste, truth, village life, and the patriarchy…A perfect match for fans of Oyinkan Braithwaite’s My Sister, the Serial Killer (2018) and clever, subversive storytelling.” —Booklist, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale January 3, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


Best Served Hot by Amanda Elliot

“ This romantic comedy from Elliot (Sadie on a Plate) is a sexy slow burn with sizzling chemistry between the well-developed protagonists. Julie and Bennett fall in love over countless meals, and the descriptions of the foods they consume are incredibly described and guaranteed to make readers salivate.” —Library Journal, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale February 21, 2023 | Available in Trade Paperback, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


Essex Dogs by Dan Jones

“The novel, the first in a planned trilogy, culminates in the 1346 Battle of Crécy after taking the “Dogs” through several earlier smaller battles and skirmishes. Loveday, the grief-stricken leader of the group, discovers along the way that he’s lost his taste for the harsher parts of war, while Romford, the newest and youngest member, struggles with his own personal demons, both past and present…Highly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell or Ken Follett who are looking for a high-stakes, immersive war story.” —Library Journal, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale February 7, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


In the Upper Country by Kai Thomas

“This fascinating series of stories within stories reflects the fragmentary history of African and Indigenous people experiencing the effects of enslavement, particularly from a Canadian perspective. Engrossing and intensely readable, this book represents just the beginning of a larger narrative, with many chapters yet to be told.” —Library Journal, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale January 10, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


Mr. Breakfast by Jonathan Carroll

“Few recent works of fiction in any genre have touched on the vagaries of life, love, and art more movingly or with deeper understanding. An intoxicating, deeply affecting novel by the influential fantasist.” Kirkus, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale January 17, 2023 | Available in Hardcover and eBook editions

 


Murder in Postscript by Mary Winters

“The atmosphere of Victorian London with its class differences are essential elements in this delightful character-driven historical mystery for fans of Katharine Schellman or Dianne Freeman.” —Library Journal, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale March 28, 2023 | Available in Trade Paperback, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


The Queen of Dirt Island by Donal Ryan

Beginning at the end and ending with a bright beginning, this latest offering from award-winning Irish novelist Ryan (Strange Flowers; The Spinning Heart) is a broad-sweeping, satisfying family saga…This could be an incredibly sad story were it not for Ryan’s ability to infuse the irony of Irish humor into its darkest corners. Light glimmers just as the story fades to black. His expert storytelling and the strength and resilience of his characters make this so much more than just another Irish family saga.” —Library Journal, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley. 

On sale February 28, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


A Sinister Revenge by Deanna Rayborn

“Raybourn continues to recognize women’s skills and abilities in Veronica Speedwell’s eighth adventure…The best-selling author of Killers of a Certain Age brings her trademark humor to this compelling historical mystery.” —Library Journal, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale March 7, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


Stone Cold Fox by Rachel Koller Croft

“Croft’s debut is a psychological thriller about an ambitious woman named Bea who has made it her life goal to seduce and marry a rich man, then settle down and forget her troubled past…This is excellent writing for a debut author and is a must-read for fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl or Lisa Unger’s Confessions on the 7:45.” —Library Journal, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale February 14, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


NONFICTION:

Empress of the Nile: The Daredevil Archaeologist Who Saved Egypt’s Ancient Temples from Destruction by Lynne Olson

“Bestseller Olson follows up Madame Fourcade’s Secret War with another scintillating biography of a woman who worked in the French Resistance against the Nazis…Enriched by fascinating digressions into Egyptian history, museum rivalries, the plundering of archaeological sites, the 1956 Suez Crisis, and more, this is a captivating portrait of a pathbreaking woman. Readers will be enthralled.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale February 28, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


AUDIOBOOKS:

 


The Extraordinary Life of an Ordinary Man: A Memoir by Paul Newman, David Rosenthal, Melissa Newman, Clea Newman Soderlund; Read by Jeff Daniels, Melissa Newman, Clea Newman Soderlund, Ari Fliakos, January LaVoy, John Rubinstein, Emily Wachtel

“In this extraordinary oral-history-autobiography, Newman’s family, friends, and colleagues provide insightful anecdotes and observations, some narrated by the contributors, others by professional narrators. Best of all, actor Jeff Daniels makes Newman’s first-person remembrances funny, poignant, sexy, and always sincere…What better way to experience this exceptional oral history?” —Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award

Listen to a clip here

Available | Available in Audio Download edition

 


What If? 2: Additional Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by Randall Munroe, Read by Wil Wheaton

“Star Trek alum and narrator Wil Wheaton perfectly matches his big and generous vocal style to the absurdly educational feel of this second installment by Randall Munroe…Gleefully engaging and informative, this production has no hints of sarcasm, just delight for inquiring minds of all ages.” —Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award

Listen to a clip here

Available | Available in Audio Download edition

 


 

STARRED REVIEWS

Category: AwardsReviews
0
143 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *