With starred reviews from publications including Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, and Library Journal—your patrons will want to read these much-anticipated books that reviewers are raving about.


FICTION


The Bandit Queens by Parini Shroff

“Shroff’s debut is a darkly hilarious take on gossip, caste, truth, village life, and the patriarchy.” —Booklist, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley. 

On sale January 3, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


How To Sell a Haunted House by Grady Hendrix

“With strong connections to twenty-first century classics such as Paul Tremblay’s A Head Full of Ghosts (2015) and Joe Hill’s Locke and Key (2009), Hendrix’ book sets the high watermark for horror in 2023.” —Booklist, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

 On sale January 17, 2023 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


Shubeik Lubeik by Deena Mohamed

“Egyptian artist and writer Mohamed deservedly won the Best Graphic Novel and the Grand Prize at the 2017 Cairo Comix Festival for Shubeik Lubeik, the title explained as “a fairy tale rhyme that means ‘your wish is my command’ in Arabic…Within the brilliantly intertwined narratives, Nour’s story will resonate especially with teens facing mental health challenges.” Booklist, starred review

“The book is exceptionally imaginative while also being wonderfully grounded in touching human relationships, existential quandaries, and familiar geopolitical and socio-economic dynamics. Mohamed’s art balances perfectly between cartoon and realism, powerfully conveying emotions, and her strong, clean lines gorgeously depict everything from an anguished face to an ornate bottle . . . Mohamed has a great sense of humor, which comes out in footnotes and casual asides throughout. Immensely enjoyable.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale January 10, 2023 | Available in Hardcover and eBook editions

 


Sleep No More by Jayne Ann Krentz

“Skillfully tapping into the current vogue for true-crime podcasts with her heroine’s side hustle while at the same time giving a clever nod to the eternal appeal of the Gothic with the book’s creepy old sanitorium setting and rumors of a murderous ghost, Krentz’s brand of smart, sexy romantic suspense remains perfectly on point.” —Booklist, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale January 3, 2023 | Available in Hardcover and eBook editions

 


A Sliver of Darkness by C. J. Tudor

“The stories defy easy categorizations: there’s horror here, as well as sf and thrillers, but there are other elements, too, sometimes blending genres. The book is a showcase for Tudor, who demonstrates her imagination and narrative range spectacularly.” —Booklist, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale November 8, 2022 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


NONFICTION


Esther’s Notebooks by Riad Sattouf; Translated by Sam Taylor

“Sattouf, renowned for his Arab of the Future autobiographical series, is just as famous in France for Esther’s Notebooks, which began as a weekly newspaper comic spotlighting the observations and experiences of a friend’s daughter… Esther is an utter delight—smart, independent, imaginative, and self-aware.” —Booklist, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

Request an e-Galley on NetGalley.

On sale January 24, 2023 | Available in Hardcover and eBook editions

 


Novelist as a Vocation by Haruki Murakami

“The author’s devoted readers will be fascinated by how his unique style and tone came into being and will also find much to ponder in his reflections on music and writing and on how he views physical fitness as central to maintaining the mental toughness it takes to sit down at the keyboard day after day. These conversational, self-deprecating musings on how one person writes novels are as close as we can hope to come to talking books with a modern master.” —Booklist, starred review

Request an e-galley on Edelweiss.   

On sale November 8, 2022 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, Large Print, and Audio Download editions

 


Surrender: 40 Songs, One Story by Bono

“That the singer-songwriter writes well for the page should not come as a surprise, but his drawings might. Fans of Bono and U2 will adore this rich and expansive memoir, while music lovers of all persuasions will find much to enjoy here, too… Award-winning (22 Grammys!) Bono’s first book will generate enormous interest.” —Booklist, starred review

“A powerful and candid debut memoir . . . With remarkable frankness, he details what makes a great song; domestic life with his wife, Ali, and their four children; how the band almost fell apart during the 1990 recording of Achtung Baby; why he always wears glasses; and his experience of the conflict between unionists and nationalists in Northern Ireland . . . Self-aware and poignantly reflective, this is a must-read.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

On sale November 1, 2022 | Available in Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download editions

 


AUDIOBOOKS

 


Babysitter by Joyce Carol Oates; Read by Cassandra Campbell and others

“This powerfully written and disturbing audiobook makes for compelling listening…”—Booklist, starred review

Click here to listen to a clip

On sale August 23, 2022 | Available as an Audio Download editions

 


The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia: Read by Gisela Chípe

“After voicing Velvet Was the Night (2021), Chípe returns to read Moreno-Garcia’s “loosely inspired” adaptation of H.G. Wells’ The Island of Doctor Moreau… Chills and thrills are guaranteed as Chípe’s effortless fluidity ensures hours of delight.” —Booklist, starred review

Click here to listen to a clip

On sale July 19, 2022 | Available as an Audio Download editions

 


How to Fall Out of Love Madly by Jana Casale; Read by Julia Knippen and others

“With clearly distinct performances, the talented narrators keep listeners engaged as the flawed characters struggle toward discovering their self-worth in frustrating yet relatable ways. Fans of Sally Rooney and Carola Lovering will want to check this out.” —Booklist, starred review

Click here to listen to a clip

On sale August 2, 2022 | Available as an Audio Download

 


The Last White Man by Mohsin Hamid; Read by the author

“Humanity will require repeated interrogation as to whether one is a person who helps or “the sort of person who would have helped.” Hamid guarantees another intricately thought-provoking masterwork.” —Booklist, starred review

Click here to listen to a clip

On sale August 2, 2022 | Available as an Audio Download editions

 


 

 

 

STARRED REVIEWS

Category: AwardsReviews
0
5 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *