Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the October 2022 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your October Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn About the Audio Editions.


TOP PICK:

Mad Honey: A Novel by Jodi Picoult and Jennifer Finney Boylan

A soul-stirring novel about what we choose to keep from our past, and what we choose to leave behind, from the New York Times bestselling author of Wish You Were Here and the bestselling author of She’s Not There.

“First love between golden boy Asher and intriguing new girl Lily ends with one teen dead and the other under suspicion of murder. This stellar collaboration is more layered, surprising, and emotional than any story has a right to be—and readers should eagerly devour every page. For fans of: The Bad Daughter, and Defending Jacob.”—Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Miracle Creek by Angie Kim


Jackal: A Novel by Erin E. Adams

A young Black girl goes missing in the woods outside her white Rust Belt town. But she’s not the first—and she may not be the last. . . .

“Liz goes back to her small hometown for a wedding, but then Caroline, her friend’s biracial daughter, goes
missing. Liz discovers that black girls go missing yearly, but the police don’t care, so she hopes to uncover this serial killer. This is a well-written suspense novel with supernatural elements. The plot was well-paced, and there
were enough twists.”—Claire Sherman, Clearwater Countryside Library, Clearwater, FL

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Red X by David Demchuck


Our Missing Hearts: A Novel by Celeste Ng

From the number one bestselling author of Little Fires Everywhere, a deeply suspenseful and heartrending novel about the unbreakable love between a mother and child in a society consumed by fear.

“Can a book shout quietly? This one does. In a dystopian society desperately seeking scapegoats, young Bird’s missing mother is deemed “un-American.” He traverses a perilous landscape in search of her: What’s left when a country sells its soul for a semblance of security? Unforgettable and heartbreakingly beautiful. For fans of Margaret Atwood and
Octavia Butler.”—Beth Mills, New Rochelle Library, New Rochelle, NY

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The School for Good Mothers by Jessamine Chan


The Family Game: A Novel by Catherine Steadman

A rich, eccentric family. A time-honored tradition. Or a lethal game of survival? One woman is about to find out if she has what it takes to join her husband’s family in this riveting, must-read thriller from the author of Something in the Water.

“Novelist Harriet “Harry” Reed is blissfully engaged to the scion of the Holbeck family, a clan with the money and power to hide the darkest secrets. Harry knows something about secrets herself, but when she embarks on a mysterious game with the Holbecks, she realizes they’re stranger, and more dangerous, than fiction. For fans of Ruth Ware.”—Jenifer French, Shreve Memorial Library, Shreveport, LA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Perfect Guests by Emma Rous


Station Eternity: The Midsolar Murders, #1 by Mur Lafferty

Amateur detective Mallory Viridian’s talent for solving murders ruined her life on Earth and drove her to live on an alien space station, but her problems still follow her in this witty, self-aware novel that puts a speculative spin on murder mysteries, from the Hugo-nominated author of Six Wakes.

“A science fiction murder mystery that was a blast to read, cinematically written with amazing characters. Lafferty introduces new aliens and their culture slowly enough to take in the details. The plot is Murder She Wrote meets sentient Deep Space Nine. It‘s all over the place but comes together satisfyingly.”—Carri Genovese Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis, IN

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Dead Space by Kali Wallace


HALL OF FAME:

Such Sharp Teeth by Rachel Harrison

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Mongrels by Stephen Graham Jones


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the November LibraryReads list ends 10/1!

Check out which November titles we’re loving.

Announcing the October LibraryReads List

Category: Awards
0
81 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *