Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the September 2022 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your September Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn About the LibraryReads Picks on Audio.


TOP PICK:

The Marriage Portrait: A Novel by Maggie O’Farrell

The author of HamnetNew York Times best seller and National Book Critics Circle Award winner—brings the world of Renaissance Italy to jewel-bright life in this unforgettable fictional portrait of the captivating young duchess Lucrezia de’ Medici as she makes her way in a troubled court.

“In 16th-century Italy, teen Lucrezia de Medici passes from her father’s control to her husband’s, with neither considering her a person with a right to her own life. O’Farrell’s poetic writing pulls you into this tale based on the likely subject of Robert Browning’s poem “My Last Dutchess”. For fans of Geraldine Brooks, Isabel Allende, and Hilary Mantel.”—Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Matrix by Lauren Groff


Ghost Eaters: A Novel by Clay McLeod Chapman

From the acclaimed author of The Remaking and Whisper Down the Lane, this terrifying supernatural page-turner will make you think twice about opening doors to the unknown.

“Chapman puts a new spin on ghost stories with a tale of a drug that allows people to be ‘haunted’ by dead loved ones. Featuring a strong subplot about the roots of colonization, this excellent horror novel examines being addicted to grief and the lengths some go to hang onto those they love. For fans of Paul Tremblay and Grady Hendrix.”—Rosemary Kiladitis, Queens Public Library, Corona, NY

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Summer Sons by Lee Mandelo


The Bullet That Missed: A Thursday Murder Club Mystery by Richard Osman

A new mystery is afoot in the third book in the Thursday Murder Club series from million-copy bestselling author Richard Osman.

“The Thursday Murder Club crack open the decade-old death of a journalist who was hot on the trail of a fraud scheme when she was murdered. Another hilarious mystery featuring the quirky (but highly effective) quartet and all their friends. For fans of Julia Chapman and SJ Bennett.”—Sarah Walker, Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis, IN

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Marlow Murder Club by Robert Thorogood


Spells for Forgetting: A Novel by Adrienne Young

From New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young comes a deeply atmospheric story about ancestral magic, an unsolved murder, and a second chance at true love.

“Another stunner by Young! When August Salt, the love of Emery Blackwood’s life, returns to
clear his name after being accused of killing Lily Morgan fourteen years ago, dark secrets arise in Saiorse Island. The prose flows like the magical elements throughout.”—Suzy Card, Grapevine Library, Grapevine, TX

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Orphan Witch by Paige Crutcher


HALL OF FAME:

Back to the Garden: A Novel by Laurie R. King

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Fierce Little Thing by Miranda Beverley-Whitmore


Drunk on Love by Jasmine Guillory

An intoxicating and sparkling new romance by New York Times bestselling author Jasmine Guillory.

“Margot is stressed out from running her family’s winery. Luke is burned out by his hi-tech job in Silicon Valley. So both are happy to enjoy what they believe to be a perfect one-night stand. However, the next day is awkward when Margot finds out Luke is the winery’s new hire. This sparkling romance will give readers a taste of the world of winemaking in Napa Valley.”—Ann-Marie Braithwaite, New York Public Library, New York, NY

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Hookup Plan by Farrah Rochon


Killers of a Certain Age by Deanna Raybourn

They’ve spent their lives as the deadliest assassins in a clandestine international organization, but now that they’re sixty years old, four women friends can’t just retire – it’s kill or be killed in this action-packed thriller by New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-nominated author Deanna Raybourn.

“Celebrating their retirement with a luxury cruise after four decades working for the same organization, four assassins discover they are now targets. This page turner offers the unique thrill of seeing women in their 60s as intelligent action heroes who can outmaneuver top assassins from an organization possessing limitless resources. For fans of What Rose Forgot and the Thursday Murder Club series.”—Di Herald, Mesa County Libraries,
Grand Junction, CO

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Old Woman with the Knife by Gu Byeong-mo, translated by Chi-Yong Kim


Lucy By the Sea: A Novel by Elizabeth Strout

From Pulitzer Prize–winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Strout comes a poignant, pitch-perfect novel about a divorced couple stuck together during lockdown—and the love, loss, despair, and hope that animate us even as the world seems to be falling apart.

“In March 2020, the pandemic forces Lucy Barton to move from Manhattan to a small town in Maine with her ex-husband William. Once she gets over the shock of this unexpected uprooting, Lucy reconnects with William as they navigate this period of isolation and fear together. While those familiar with Lucy from previous books will enjoy seeing her mature, this story also stands alone for new readers.”—Nancy Eggert, Chicago Public Library, Chicago, IL

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Summer of Lost and Found by Mary Alice Monroe


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the October LibraryReads list ends 9/1!

Check out which October titles we’re loving.

Announcing the September LibraryReads List

Category: Awards
0
128 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *