Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the August 2022 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your August Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


TOP PICK:

Love on the Brain by Ali Hazelwood

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis comes a new STEMinist rom-com in which a scientist is forced to work on a project with her nemesis—with explosive results.

“Bee’s worked hard to get her big break leading a NASA project. However, she learns that she’ll be working with Levi, an old acquaintance who detests her. Or does he? Hazelwood’s done it again with another fantastic romance filled with the real-world struggles of being a woman in STEM. For fans of Helen Hoang and Christina Lauren.”—Brenna Timm, High Plains Library District, Greeley, CO

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Marriage Code by Brooke Burroughs


The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches by Sangu Mandanna

A warm and uplifting novel about an isolated witch whose opportunity to embrace a quirky new family—and a new love—changes the course of her life.

“Mika is one of the few witches secretly living in Britain when someone reaches out for help teaching three young witches. She becomes entangled in the lives of her pupils and the household, including the handsome yet grouchy librarian Jaime. A cozy romance for fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea.”—Danielle Geiger, Brentwood Public Library, Brentwood, TN

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Payback’s a Witch by Lana Harper


Shutter by Ramona Emerson

This blood-chilling debut set in New Mexico’s Navajo Nation is equal parts gripping crime thriller, supernatural horror, and poignant portrayal of coming of age on the reservation.

“Rita Todacheene, a crime scene photographer for the Albuquerque PD, can communicate with the dead. Her latest job involves a woman who allegedly killed herself… but she won’t leave Rita alone. A cinematic thriller set on the edge of the Navajo Nation, Emerson’s debut is a must-read.”—Erin Downey Howerton, Wichita Public Library, Wichita, KS

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: When the Reckoning Comes by Latanya McQueen


BONUS PICK:

Perish: A Novel by LaToya Watkins

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


HALL OF FAME:

Carrie Soto Is Back: A Novel by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes


Sophie Go’s Lonely Hearts Club by Roselle Lim

A new heartfelt novel about the power of loneliness and the strength of love that overcomes it by critically acclaimed author Roselle Lim.

“Sophie Go can see red threads extending from everyone’s heart—threads that show how ready a person is for love. Despite her mom’s disapproval, Sophie aspires to use her gift to become Toronto’s premier matchmaker. When she corrals a group of elderly Chinese men in her apartment building as potential clients, she has the chance to realize her dream and break free from her overbearing mother.”—Maureen Rothenberg, Clayton County Public Libraries, Jonesboro, GA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Rules of Arrangement by Anisha Bhatia


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the September LibraryReads list ends 8/1!

Check out which September titles we’re loving.

Announcing the August LibraryReads List

Category: Awards
0
121 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *