Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the April 2022 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your April Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


TOP PICK:

Lessons in Chemistry by Jesse Q. Sutanto

A must-read debut novel! Meet Elizabeth Zott: a one-of-a-kind scientist in 1960s California whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show.

“In the 50s and early 60s when women were viewed as little more than chattel for men’s convenience, Elizabeth Zott had the temerity to become a chemist. With complex and wonderful characters, her story is funny, sad, enraging, hopeful, and will have readers cheering for every character and all women everywhere. For fans of Where’d You Go Bernadette?, The Rosie Project, and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.” Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel by Bonnie Garmus (Doubleday) —Judy G. Sebastian, Eastham Public Library, Eastham, MA NoveList read-alike:

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Park Avenue Summer by Renee Rosen


 

The Good Left Undone by Adriana Trigiani

From Adriana Trigiani, “a master of visual and palpable detail” (The Washington Post), comes a lush, immersive novel about a hardworking family of Tuscan artisans with long-held secrets. Epic in scope and resplendent with the glorious themes of identity and belonging, The Good Left Undone unfolds in breathtaking turns.

“Following the lives of various generations of the Cabrelli family, Trigiani takes readers through the 1920s, World War II, and modern-day Italy and Scotland. With descriptive language and well-drawn characters, each generation’s story is woven seamlessly into the next. For fans of Love and Ruin and The Guest Book.”—Janet Makoujy, New City Library, New City, NY

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee


I’ll Be You by Janelle Brown

Two identical twin sisters and former child actors have grown apart—until one disappears, and the other is forced to confront the secrets they’ve kept from each other in this twisty suspense novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Things.

“Sam and Elli, identical twin sisters and former television stars, have their issues. Sam is a recovering addict, and Elli has been taken in by a cult. But they are quite likable, and the story is totally engaging, a bit suspenseful, and includes well developed plot points. Give to fans of The Good Sister.” —Evelyn Cunningham, Norwalk Public Library, Norwalk, CT

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Until We Are Lost by Leslie Archer


Portrait of a Thief by Grace D. Li

Ocean’s Eleven meets The Farewell in Portrait of a Thief, a lush, lyrical heist novel inspired by the true story of Chinese art vanishing from Western museums; about diaspora, the colonization of art, and the complexity of the Chinese American identity.

“Li’s debut novel is a fun heist book focusing on five Chinese-American college students recruited to steal artwork from Western museums and return them to China. The book looks at issues of diaspora, colonization, and the character’s different relationships with culture and identity. Give to readers who liked The Verifiers and Skin Deep.”—Allie Williams, Camarillo Library, Camarillo, CA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Violin Conspiracy by Brendan Slocumb


Take My Hand by Dolen Perkins-Valdez

A searing and compassionate new novel about a young Black nurse’s shocking discovery and burning quest for justice in post-segregation Alabama, from the New York Times bestselling author of Wench.

“A well-paced, wrenching book about the reproductive rights of Blacks and the poor in the mid-20th century. The story moves back and forth in time with fully drawn characters, giving the reader a view of the consequences of the health care system’s policies and fresh outrage at the wrongs perpetrated upon Black women. For readers of Celeste Ng and Rebecca Skloot.”—Leona Arthen, The Worthington Library, Worthington, OH
NoveList read-alike:

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Pure America: Eugenics and the Making of Modern Virginia by Elizabeth Catte


HALL OF FAME:

The No-Show by Beth O’Leary

Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the teahouse. . . .

“It’s Valentine’s Day, and three women are stood up–by the same guy. The story is told from the perspectives of the women, and their stories weave together seamlessly. The characters are delightful! Sure to please both existing fans and those new to this author.” —Karen Clements, Lake Villa District Library, Lindenhurst, IL

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Ghosts by Dolly Alderton


 

Sea of Tranquility by Emily St. John Mandel

Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the teahouse. . . .

“In 2400, Gaspery works at the Time Institute where he investigates the nature of reality. This book pieces together the human experience beautifully. A compelling read for time travel and sci-fi fans. The characters and insights about living through a pandemic made this a page turner! For fans of Cloud Cuckoo Land and Recursion.” —Andie Conn, Mid-Continent Public Library, Kansas City, MO

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the May LibraryReads list ends 4/1!

Check out which May titles we’re loving.

Announcing the April 2022 LibraryReads List!

Category: Awards
0
89 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *