Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to the books selected for the January 2022 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your January Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


TOP PICK:

The Maid by Nita Prose

A charmingly eccentric hotel maid discovers a guest murdered in his bed. Solving the mystery will turn her once orderly world upside down in this utterly original debut.

“As a maid in a posh hotel, Molly is very proud of her work and the care she takes of the guests, even though she often has difficulty navigating social cues. When she finds a wealthy guest dead, she never imagines she has the keys to uncover a killer, and finds, after the death of her beloved Gran, there are many people willing to help her. For fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and How Lucky.”—Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Pretty as a Picture by Elizabeth Little


The Roughest Draft by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka

They were cowriting literary darlings until they hit a plot hole that turned their lives upside down.

“In this bookish romance, two estranged co-authors are pressured into fulfilling the last book on their contract after their relationship goes haywire. It’s always fun to read about the writing/publishing process, and there’s great chemistry between the leads. For fans of Christina Lauren and Emily Henry.”—Rebecca Swanson, Fitchburg Public Library, Fitchburg, WI

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Seven Days in June by Tia Williams


Weather Girl by Rachel Lynn Solomon

A TV meteorologist and a sports reporter scheme to reunite their divorced bosses with unforecasted results in this electrifying romance from the author of The Ex Talk.

“Ari and Russell scheme to get their feuding divorced bosses back together, Parent Trap-style, and regain peace in the workplace. Instead, they find love. A touching, surprisingly weighty romance, exploring issues of depression and body image and incorporating glimpses of Jewish faith. For fans of Get a Life, Chloe Brown and The Matzah Ball.”—Alicia Ahlvers, Henrico County Public Library, Henrico, VA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Marriage Code by Brooke Burroughs


HALL OF FAME:

Congratulations to all the books inducted into the LibraryReads Hall of Fame List.

The Accomplice by Lisa Lutz

Best friends Owen and Luna can’t be mentioned without the other. When Owen’s wife is murdered–and Luna finds the body–uncovered secrets throw everything into question in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Passenger.

“In an expertly crafted mystery, sly in tone, and strongly character driven with complex personalities, Luna sets out to discover who murdered the wife of Owen, her best friend from college. Unexpected twists, red herrings, and secrets unite in a completely satisfying read. For fans of Megan Miranda, Wendy Walker, and Lexie Elliott”—Kelly Moore, Carrollton Public Library, Carrollton, TX

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: What Remains of Me by Alison Gaylin


The Magnolia Palace by Fiona Davis

Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue, returns with a tantalizing novel about the secrets, betrayal, and murder within one of New York City’s most impressive Gilded Age mansions.

“In 1966 model Veronica and art curator Joshua discover a mystery involving a missing diamond from the Frick Museum, which is connected to Lilian, the private secretary of Helen Frick in the Gilded Age. Read if you love gorgeously written historical fiction set in New York! For fans of Park Avenue Summer or The Swans of Fifth Avenue.”—Jennifer Schultz, Fauquier Public Library, Warrenton, VA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Art Forger by Barbara A. Shapiro


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the February LibraryReads list ends 1/1!

Check out which February titles we’re loving.

Announcing the January 2022 LibraryReads List!

Category: Awards
0
721 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *