Whether you’re back in the building or battling Zoom fatigue, these fiction books set in the workplace will have you laughing, crying, fighting existential dread, and everything in between—just another day at the office.

View the collection of fiction set in the workplace on Edelweiss.

Stuck in traffic on your commute? Jam out to these audiobooks to make the most of your delay.

View the blog on Books on Tape.


Read Them First

Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel by Bonnie Garmus

A delight for readers of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, this blockbuster debut set in 1960s California features the singular voice of Elizabeth Zott, a scientist whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Marrying the Ketchups: A Novel by Jennifer Close

An irresistible comedy of manners about three generations of a Chicago restaurant family and the private jokes, ancient grudges, broken hearts, and deep, abiding love that feeds them all.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Happy for You: A Novel by Claire Stanford

A whip-smart, funny, affecting novel about a young woman who takes a job at a tech company looking to break into the “happiness market”—even as her own happiness feels more unknowable than ever.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Now Available

For the Laughs

Several People Are Typing: A Novel by Calvin Kasulke

Good Morning America Book Club Pick! • A work-from-home comedy where WFH meets WTF.

Told entirely through clever and captivating Slack messages, this irresistible, relatable satire of both virtual work and contemporary life is The Office for a new world.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


All Stirred Up: A Novel by Brianne Moore 

Inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion. She returned to save her family’s dying legacy—but found the ghosts of her past alive and well.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.


Minus Me: A Novel by Mameve Medwed 

When an exclusive New York women’s workspace is rocked by the mysterious disappearance of its enigmatic founder, two sisters must uncover the haunting truth before they lose their friendships, their careers—maybe even their lives.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.


For the Thrills

The Herd: A Novel by Andrea Bartz

When an exclusive New York women’s workspace is rocked by the mysterious disappearance of its enigmatic founder, two sisters must uncover the haunting truth before they lose their friendships, their careers—maybe even their lives.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.

Listen to a Clip of the Audiobook Here.


The Warehouse: A Novel by Rob Hart

Set in the confines of a corporate panopticon that’s at once brilliantly imagined and terrifyingly real, The Warehouse is a near-future thriller about what happens when Big Brother meets Big Business—and who will pay the ultimate price.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


The New Girl: A Novel  by Harriet Walker

How far would someone go to replace you? A new mother on maternity leave grows increasingly paranoid about her ambitious young temp in this Hitchcockian debut from the fashion editor at The Times (UK).

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For the Realness

Love Poems for the Office by John Kenney 

In the spirit of his Love Poems collections, as well as his wildly popular New Yorker pieces, New York Times bestseller and Thurber Prize-winner John Kenney returns with a hilarious new collection of poetry—for office life.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


The Assistants: A Novel by Camille Perri

Ocean’s Eleven meets The Devil Wears Prada” (The Skimm) in this hilarious, razor-sharp debut novel about a group of overeducated and underpaid women who decide they’ve finally had enough . . .

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Personal Days: A Novel by Ed Park

In an unnamed New York-based company, the employees are getting restless as everything around them unravels. There’s Pru, the former grad student turned spreadsheet drone; Laars, the hysteric whose work anxiety stalks him in his tooth-grinding dreams; and Jack II, who distributes unwanted backrubs—aka “jackrubs”—to his co-workers.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.


Amanda Wakes Up: A Novel by Alisyn Camerota

“When Amanda Gallo signs on for the job of her dreams at FAIR news, she expects a life-changing career move. What she finds is chaos, vipers, and relentless competition. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry.”
Glamour (The Best Books to Read This Summer)

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For the Literary Crowd

The Imperfectionists: A Novel by Tom Rachman

From the author of The Italian Teacher, this acclaimed debut novel set in Rome follows the topsy-turvy lives of the denizens of an English language newspaper.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.


Three Martini Lunch: A Novel by Suzanne Rindell

From the author of the “thrilling” (The Christian Science Monitor) novel The Other Typist comes an evocative, multilayered story of ambition, success, and secrecy in 1950s New York.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan

A frank and funny yet emotionally resonant tale set within a vivid work day world, from the author of Emily, Alone and Henry, Himself–named a Best Book of the Year by The Washington Post, the San Francisco Chronicle, and Entertainment Weekly.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.


 

Fiction Set in the Workplace

Category: Staff Picks
0
119 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *