Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the October 2021 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your October Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


The Lincoln Highway: A Novel by Amor Towles

The bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow and Rules of Civility and master of absorbing, sophisticated fiction returns with a stylish and propulsive novel set in 1950s America.

“In 1952, castoffs from a Nebraska juvenile detention camp embark on a road trip that takes them in different directions than initially intended. There’s so much genuine sweetness and aching loss in this exuberant book full of characters you’ll care about deeply. For fans of John Irving and Ann Patchett.”—Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Last Bus to Wisdom by Ivan Doig


Payback’s a Witch by Lana Harper

The Witches of Eastwick meets The L Word in this fresh, sizzling rom-com by Lana Harper.

“Emmy reluctantly returns to her hometown to serve as arbiter of a magical tournament. But the town now seemingly has much more to offer, including a gorgeous witch. Will she be enough incentive for Emmy to stay? Romance and a well-developed magical system make this perfect for fans of TJ Klune and Seanan McGuire.”—Alicia Ahlvers, Henrico County Public Library, Henrico, VA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Ex Hex by Erin Sterling


Cackle: A Novel by Rachel Harrison

A darkly funny, frightening novel about a young woman learning how to take what she wants from a witch who may be too good to be true, from the author of The Return.

“Annie is floundering after an unexpected breakup and a subsequent move to a small, quirky town. Her new friend Sophie is a little strange, but Annie is so happy to have someone who has chosen her that she ignores her concerns. This delightfully creepy fall story will work well for those who like paranormal fiction
and light horror, and fans of The Year of the Witching and The Deep.”—Rebecca Swanson, Fitchburg Public Library, Fitchburg, WI

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: We Ride Upon Sticks by Quan Barry


Hall of Fame

Congratulations to all the books inducted into the LibraryReads Hall of Fame List.

Oh William!: A Novel by Elizabeth Strout

The Pulitzer Prize-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author traces the enduring bond between a divorced couple in a poignant novel about love, loss, and the family secrets that can erupt and bewilder us at any point in life.

“Readers of I Am Lucy Barton will delight in the chance to revisit the character. The reflections on life, love and marriage are conveyed in Ms. Strout’s conversational yet concise writing. Readers will feel like they are having a personal discussion with Strout in their minds. For fans of Marilynne Robinson and Ann Patchett.”—Carol Tuttle, Willoughby-Eastlake Public Library, Willoughby, OH

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Silent Treatment by Abbie Greaves


Well Matched by Jen DeLuca

A pretend relationship gives two friends more than they bargained for in a Renaissance Faire rom com filled with flower crowns, kilts, corsets, and sword fights.

“When Mitch asks April to pose as his girlfriend for an upcoming family event, you immediately know where this is going. If you’re a fan of Lyssa Kay Adams or Tessa Bailey, then you’ll enjoy this light, feel-good romance!”—Rosanna Johnson, Chandler Public Library, Chandler, AZ

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: The Dating Plan by Sara Desai


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the November LibraryReads list ends 10/1!

Check out which November titles we’re loving.

Announcing the October 2021 LibraryReads List

Category: Awards
0
163 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *