Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the September 2021 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your September Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


Harlem Shuffle: A Novel by Colson Whitehead

From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Underground Railroad and The Nickel Boys, a gloriously entertaining novel of heists, shakedowns, and rip-offs set in Harlem in the 1960s.

“Read if you want a brilliantly plotted heist novel set in 1960s New York. The Harlem setting with its creeping gentrification is a significant part of the story. For readers who enjoyed Deacon King Kong and Black Bottom Saints.”—Jennifer Schultz, Fauquier County Public Library, Warrenton, VA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Only the Strong by Jabari Asim


The Love Hypothesis: A Novel by Ali Hazelwood

When a fake relationship between scientists meets the irresistible force of attraction, it throws one woman’s carefully calculated theories on love into chaos.

“Stanford scientists Olive and Adam begin fakedating out of mutual convenience, but their relationship causes all sorts of issues on campus. Readers will grow to root for this brainy duo in neuroscientist Hazelwood’s romcom debut. For readers of The Kiss Quotient and The Rosie Project.”—Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: A Princess in Theory by Alyssa Cole


The Man Who Died Twice by Richard Osman

The second gripping novel in the #1 internationally bestselling Thursday Murder Club series, the first of which Kate Atkinson called “A little beacon of pleasure in the midst of the gloom. . . SUCH FUN!”

“The competent senior quartet of The Thursday Murder Club returns, this time tracking
down stolen diamonds while dealing with a troublesome ex-husband, a local drug queenpin, the arrival of the mafia, and a growing number of murders. An utter delight. For fans of The Postscript Murders and the Flavia de Luce mysteries.—Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: An Elderly Lady is Up to No Good by Helene Tursten


Hall of Fame

Congratulations to all the books inducted into the LibraryReads Hall of Fame List.

The Last Graduate: A Novel by Naomi Novik

The specter of graduation looms large as Naomi Novik’s groundbreaking, New York Times bestselling trilogy continues in the stunning sequel to A Deadly Education.

“El and her friends start their senior year, and if their fix worked, they should have a fighting chance against the maleficaria, beasts that feast on graduating students. But the school seems to be out to get El, as she’s suddenly the only one being targeted by mals. Recommended for grown up fans of fantasy school stories that would appreciate the darker side of this one.”—Mary Bell, Wilbraham Public Library, Wilbraham, MA

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: Master of Sorrows by Justin Travis Call


Portrait of a Scotsman by Evie Dunmore

Going toe-to-toe with a brooding Scotsman is rather bold for a respectable suffragist, but when he happens to be one’s unexpected husband, what else is an unwilling bride to do?

“A forced marriage, an assumed affair, and a trip north to Scotland bring about multiple revelations between Hattie, a radical bluestocking, and Lucian, a self-made Scotsman. In this open-door romance, they learn to define what is important to both their emotional and sexual relationship. Dunmore does an incredible job of weaving in political and historical issues.”—Sarah Milner, Charleston County Public Library, Charleston, SC

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

NoveList read-alike: A Week to Be Wicked by Tessa Dare


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the October LibraryReads list ends 9/1!

Check out which October titles we’re loving.

Announcing the September 2021 LibraryReads List

Category: Announcements
0
112 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *