Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the August 2021 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your August Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


The Last Chance Library by Freya Sampson

June Jones emerges from her shell to fight for her beloved local library, and through the efforts and support of an eclectic group of library patrons, she discovers life-changing friendships along the way.

“June is stuck. After her mom dies, she continues to live quietly in her mother’s house and work in the library where her mother worked. When the library is threatened, she finds a new purpose, saving it and finding so much more. This one is full of heart, humor, and love of literature. For fans of The Authenticity
Project and How To Find Love in a Bookshop.”—Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library-Johnson Branch, Genesee, MI

NoveList read-alike: The Library at the Edge of the World by Felicity Hayes-McCoy

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


A Slow Fire Burning by Paula Hawkins

With the same propulsion that captivated millions of readers worldwide in The Girl on the Train and Into the Water, Paula Hawkins unfurls a gripping, twisting story of deceit, murder, and revenge.

“A brutal crime is committed on a London houseboat, and numerous friends, family, neighbors, and lovers seem to have a motive for the fatal stabbing. As the number of suspects grows, the lies begin to unravel in what promises to be a hit summer read. For fans of Shari Lapena and Mary Kubica.”—KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT

NoveList read-alike: Dark Tide by Elizabeth Haynes

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


The Royals Next Door by Karina Halle

An ordinary summer goes royally awry when a prince and princess move next door, bringing their handsome bodyguard with them, from New York Times bestselling author Karina Halle.

“After a prince and princess move to her British Columbia town, a local teacher falls for their grumpy bodyguard. This charming romantic comedy is unexpectedly moving and features deep and layered characters. Perfect for fans of The Royal We and Royal Holiday.”—Janet Schneider, Peninsula Public Library, Lawrence, NY

NoveList read-alike: Incense and Sensibility by Sonali Dev

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


Hall of Fame:

The Heart Principle by Helen Hoang

A woman struggling with burnout learns to embrace the unexpected—and the man she enlists to help her—in this heartfelt new romance by USA Today bestselling author Helen Hoang.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


Velvet Was the Night by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic comes a “delicious, twisted treat for lovers of noir”* about a daydreaming secretary, a lonesome enforcer, and the mystery of a missing woman they’re both desperate to find.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the September LibraryReads list ends 8/1!

Check out which September titles we’re loving.

Announcing the August 2021 LibraryReads List

Category: Awards
0
22 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *