We have an exciting list of forthcoming titles by AAPI creators, and we’re thrilled to celebrate these stories with you for this year’s Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month! From vivid, sweeping ghost tales to tightly-wound thrillers, there’s a book for every patron in this collection. Check out our featured titles below, or view the full selection on Edelweiss.

Click Here to View the Collection.

Celebrate AAPI Heritage Month with a collection of audiobooks from Books on Tape for kids here and for adults here.


For Fans of Literary Fiction:

Build Your House Around My Body: A Novel by Violet Kupersmith

Part puzzle, part revenge tale, part ghost story, this kaleidoscopic novel set in Vietnam spins half a century of history and folklore into the story of a missing woman.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


The Book of Form and Emptiness: A Novel by Ruth Ozeki

With its blend of sympathetic characters, riveting plot, and vibrant engagement with everything from jazz, to climate change, to our attachment to material possessions, The Book of Form and Emptiness is classic Ruth Ozeki—bold, wise, poignant, playful, humane and heartbreaking.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Silent Winds, Dry Seas: A Novel by Vinod Busjeet

A sweeping debut novel that explores the intimate struggle for independence and success of a young descendant of Indian indentured laborers in Mauritius, a small multiracial island in the Indian Ocean.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Ghost Forest: A Novel by Pik-Shuen Fung

A graceful and indelible debut novel of love, grief, and memory, about a young woman from one of Hong Kong’s “astronaut” families, separated from her father after China regained control of Hong Kong from the British.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


A Passage North: A Novel by Anuk Arudpragasam

A young man journeys into Sri Lanka’s war-torn north in this searing novel of longing, loss, and the legacy of war from the award-winning author of The Story of a Brief Marriage.

For Fans of Mysteries and Thrillers:

My Sweet Girl: A Novel by Amanda Jayatissa

Paloma thought her perfect life would begin once she was adopted and made it to America, but she’s about to find out that no matter how far you run, your past always catches up to you . . .

Click for Audiobook Information.


Clark and Division: A Novel by Naomi Hirahara

Set in 1944 Chicago, Edgar Award-winner Naomi Hirahara’s eye-opening and poignant new mystery, the story of a young woman searching for the truth about her revered older sister’s death, brings to focus the struggles of one Japanese American family released from mass incarceration at Manzanar during World War II.

Click for eBook Information.


Intimacies: A Novel by Katie Kitamura 

Intimacies is a haunting, precise, and morally astute novel that reads like a psychological thriller…. Katie Kitamura is a wonder.” —Dana Spiotta, author of Innocents and Others and Eat the Document

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For Fans of Romance and Women’s Fiction:

The Tiger Mom’s Tale by Lyn Liao Butler

When an American woman inherits the wealth of her Taiwanese family, she travels to confront them about their betrayals of the past in this stunning debut by Lyn Liao Butler.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


The Mismatch: A Novel by Sara Jafari

A kiss is never just a kiss in this cross-generational story about love, family, faith, and finding yourself.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Angel & Hannah: A Novel in Verse by Ishle Yi Park

The sweeping, unforgettable story of an interracial couple in 1990s New York City who are determined to protect their love against all odds—a reimagining of Romeo and Juliet.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For Fans of Short Story Collections:

AI 2041: Ten Visions for Our Future by Kai-Fu Lee and Chen Qiufan

In this groundbreaking blend of imaginative storytelling and scientific forecasting, a pioneering AI expert and a leading writer of speculative fiction join forces to answer an imperative question: How will artificial intelligence change our world within twenty years?

Click for Audiobook Information.


Skinship: Stories by Yoon Choi

An exquisite collection from a breathtakingly new voice—centered on a constellation of Korean American families, these stories announce the debut of a master of short fiction.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For Fans of Biography and Memoir:

Beautiful Country: A Memoir by Qian Julie Wang

An incandescent and heartrending memoir from an astonishing new talent, Beautiful Country puts readers in the shoes of an undocumented child living in poverty in the richest country in the world.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Made in China: A Memoir of Love and Labor by Anna Qu

A young girl forced to work in a Queens sweatshop calls child services on her mother in this powerful debut memoir about labor and self-worth that traces a Chinese immigrant’s journey to an American future.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

May is Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Category: Staff Picks
0
161 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *