Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the May 2021 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your May Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


 

People We Meet On Vacation by Emily Henry

“An aching slow-burn romance focused on chaotic sprite Poppy and buttoned up Alex and their twelve years of summer vacations. Set in present day Palm Springs and interspersed with flashbacks from the previous vacations, this story is full of yearning, friendship, and discussions of what it means to find a home. For fans of This Time Next Year, One Day in December, and Waiting for Tom Hanks.”—Elizabeth Gabriel, Milwaukee Public Library, Milwaukee, WI

NoveList read-alike: Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


Arsenic and Adobo by Mia P. Manasala

“This fast-paced, cozy mystery with a diverse and colorful cast will make you laugh, cringe, and salivate. Lila has returned home to help with the family’s failing Filipino restaurant, which is repeatedly panned by her food blogger ex. When he comes to lunch and ends up face down in his dessert, Lila becomes the prime murder suspect. For readers who enjoyed Dial A for Aunties and Mimi Lee Gets a Clue.”—Laura Eckert, Clermont County Public Library, Milford, OH

NoveList read-alike: A Deadly Inside Scoop by Abby Collette

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


The Bookshop of Second Chances: A Novel  by Jackie Fraser

“Nothing like turning a page in an upended life to find a surprising plot twist leading to a satisfying ending. That’s what readers will find in this charming novel. The power of books to soothe will attract bibliophiles, but stay for the lively banter of the romantic leads, the quirky local residents, and the brisk Scottish countryside. Perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over and The Bookish Life of Nina Hill.”—Kaite Stover, Kansas City Public Library, Kansas City, MO

NoveList read-alike: How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


The Guncle: A Novel by Steven Rowley

“Gay Uncle Patrick,” a reclusive TV star, takes in his niece and nephew for the summer after the death of their mother, his dear friend. As the three navigate their grief together, Patrick finds he needs the kids as much as they need him. By turns funny and poignant, this heartwarming story is great for fans of actor (and Instagram fave) Leslie Jordan and for readers who like Fredrik Backman.”—Heather Bistyga, Anderson County Library, Anderson, SC

NoveList read-alike: The Family Man by Elinor Lipman

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


The Invisible Husband of Frick Island: A Novel by Colleen Oakley

“Anders, a journalist, is sent to Frick Island to cover a Cake Walk, where he meets Piper, a widow who behaves as if her husband had never died. The strangest thing is, the entire island goes along with this delusion, and Anders, who is smitten with Piper, is determined to find out why. For fans of The Story of Arthur Truluv and The Garden of Small Beginnings.”—Aubrey Parker, Montgomery County Memorial Library, Conroe, TX

NoveList read-alike: One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


While Justice Sleeps: A Novel by Stacey Abrams

“Avery’s boss is a Supreme Court Justice and he is currently in a coma after naming Avery (instead of his wife) as his guardian. This situation is further complicated by the fact that the judge is a swing vote in a very important decision before the court. How well Avery knows her boss will determine the fate of both of them. For readers of John Grisham and Robert Dugoni.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Public Library, Austin, TX

NoveList read-alike: Paper Gods by Goldie Taylor

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


Hall of Fame:

Hour of the Witch: A Novel by Chris Bohjalian

“In Puritan New England, Mary Deerfield is trapped in a marriage with a violent man. She has the audacity to file for divorce in a time where women were
accused of witchcraft for any perceived slight or behavior. This book is filled with strong women and speaks to the witch hunts of today.”—Lisa Casper, Douglas County Libraries, Highlands Ranch, CO

Read-alike: The Fifth Petal by Brunonia Berry
Read-alike: The Witches by Stacy Schif

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


Project Hail Mary: A Novel by Andy Weir

“Ryland Grace wakes up alone on a spaceship with amnesia. Gradually he remembers being on a oneway journey to save Earth from a dying sun. Then he encounters Rocky, an engineer on a similar mission. Hard to put down and impossible to forget, this is ingenious science fiction to celebrate and share.”— Brenda O’Brien, Woodridge Public Library, Woodridge, IL

Read-alike: Aurora by Kim Stanley Robinson
Read-alike: The Relentless Moon by Mary Robinette Kowal

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the June LibraryReads list ends 5/1!

Check out which June titles we’re loving.

Announcing the May 2021 LibraryReads List!

Category: Awards
0
79 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *