Happy National Library Week to all of the incredible librarians out there! We have a fantastic list of titles featuring libraries, librarian characters, or simply celebrate our shared love of literature. Browse our top staff picks below, or view the full collection of National Library Week picks on Edelweiss.

Learn More About National Library Week Here.


For Adults:

The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray

The remarkable, little-known story of Belle da Costa Greene, J. P. Morgan’s personal librarian—who became one of the most powerful women in New York despite the dangerous secret she kept in order to make her dreams come true, from New York Times bestselling author Marie Benedict and acclaimed author Victoria Christopher Murray.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


You Love Me: A You Novel by Caroline Kepnes

The highly anticipated new thriller in Caroline Kepnes’s hit You series, now a blockbuster Netflix show—a compulsively readable trip into the deviant mind of the uniquely antisocial, savvy bookseller . . . Joe Goldberg.

Joe is done with the cities. He’s done with the muck and the posers, done with Love. Now, he’s saying hello to nature, to simple pleasures on a cozy island in the Pacific Northwest. For the first time in a long time, he can just breathe.

He gets a job at the local library—he does know a thing or two about books—and that’s where he meets her: Mary Kay DiMarco. Librarian.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


The Last Chance Library by Freya Sampson

June Jones emerges from her shell to fight for her beloved local library, and through the efforts and support of an eclectic group of library patrons, she discovers life-changing friendships along the way.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


The Bodies in the Library: A First Edition Library Mystery, #1 by Marty Wingate

Hayley Burke’s fresh start as the curator of the First Edition Society’s library in Bath, England, is about to take a rotten turn in this charming new mystery series from USA Today bestselling author Marty Wingate.

Click for More Information.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


Murder at the Lakeside Library: A Lakeside Library Mystery by Holly Danvers

In this series debut perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James, Rain Wilmot must discover the killer, before the book closes on her life.

Click for More Information.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.


The Giver of Stars: A Novel by Jojo Moyes

The #1 New York Times bestseller with more than 1 million copies sold. Set in Depression-era America, a breathtaking story of five extraordinary women and their remarkable journey through the mountains of Kentucky and beyond, from the bestselling author of Me Before You.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


The Librarian of Boone’s Hollow: A Novel by Kim Vogel Sawyer

A traveling librarian ventures into the mining towns of Kentucky on horseback and rediscovers her passions in this powerful novel from the best-selling author of A Silken Thread.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click for eBook Information.


The Book of Form and Emptiness: A Novel by Ruth Ozeki

A brilliantly inventive new novel about loss, growing up, and our relationship with things, by the Booker Prize-finalist author of A Tale for the Time Being.

Click for More Information.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for AudioBook Information.


Unstitched: My Journey to Understand Opioid Addiction and How People and Communities Can Heal by Brett Ann Stanciu

A stranger, rumored to be a heroin addict repeatedly breaks into the small-town library Brett Ann Stanciu runs. After she tries to get law enforcement to do something about it — the elementary school children and young parents with babies frequent the place after all — he commits suicide. When she realizes how little she knows about opioid abuse, she sets out on a mission, seeking insight from others: people in recovery, treatment providers, the town police chief, Vermont’s US attorney, etc.

Stanciu’s quest forces her to see her small town, and herself, in unexpected ways. Her page-turning book will enable others to do the same.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click for eBook Information.


For Kids:

Larry Gets Lost in the Library by Eric Ode; Illustrated by John Skewes; Created by John Skewes

This new addition to the bestselling Larry Gets Lost series, featuring the perpetually lost pup, Larry, celebrates libraries and librarians.

Click for More Information.


Dragon Keepers #3: The Dragon in the Library by Kate Klimo; Illustrated by John Shroades

A young middle grade series that bridges the gap between Magic Tree House books and Eragon.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.


A Library Book for Bear by Bonny Becker; Illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton

Curmudgeonly Bear succumbs to Mouse’s entreaties and discovers the joy of books in a hilarious story that fans will covet for their own library.

Click for More Information.


En Español:

La biblioteca de París / The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Una historia de valentía y traición basada en las vicisitudes de los trabajadores de la Biblioteca Americana de París en la Segunda Guerra Mundial.

A story of bravery and betrayal based on the challenges of the workers at the American Library of Paris during World War II.

Click for More Information.


Schomburg: El hombre que creó una biblioteca by Carole Boston Weatherford; Illustrated by Eric Velasquez

“A must-read for a deeper understanding of a well-connected genius who enriched the cultural road map for African Americans and books about them.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Click for More Information.


 

Want to see more? Click here for additional books featuring librarian characters.

It’s National Library Week

Category: Staff Picks
0
71 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *