With starred reviews from publications including Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers WeeklyLibrary Journal, and AudioFile—your patrons will want to read these much-anticipated books that reviewers are raving about.


FICTION:

The Performance by Claire Thomas

A novel about three women at turning points in their lives, and the one night that changes everything.

“Plumbing themes of intimacy, ambition, grief, and longing with a clarity that is both universal and precise, Thomas’ slim novel offers a rich source for book groups and all contemplative readers.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Available Now | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Antiquities by Cynthia Ozick

From one of our most preeminent writers, a tale that captures the shifting meanings of the past, and how our experience colors those meanings.

“Ozick sagaciously traces anti-Semitism’s perpetual, toxic reach across centuries and continents.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

April 13, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Lady Joker, Volume 1 by Kaoru Takamura; Translated by Allison Markin Powell and Marie Iida

One of Japan’s great modern masters, Kaoru Takamura, makes her English-language debut with this two-volume publication of her magnum opus.

“Excellent . . . Takamura shows why she’s one of Japan’s most prominent mystery novelists.”
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

April 13, 2021 | Hardcover and eBook Editions


The Lady Has a Past by Amanda Quick

Beauty and glamour meet deception and revenge in this electrifying novel by New York Times bestselling author Amanda Quick.

“This ingeniously plotted, paranormal-spiced novel brilliantly showcases Quick’s mastery of concentrated suspense, clever characterization, and combustible sexual chemistry.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

April 13, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Something Unbelievable: A Novel by Maria Kuznetsova

An overwhelmed new mom discovers unexpected parallels between life in twenty-first-century America and her grandmother’s account of their family’s escape from the Nazis in this sharp, heartfelt novel.

 “An introspective look at the stages of life and what means the most at each phase, Kuznetsova’s second outing is an emotional powerhouse.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

April 13, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


The Man Who Lived Underground by Richard Wright

A major literary event: an explosive, previously unpublished novel from the 1940s by the legendary author of Native Son and Black Boy.

“…this timeless tour de force, emerges in full, the work Wright was most passionate about, as he explains in the profoundly illuminating essay, ‘Memories of My Grandmother,’ also published here for the first time. This blazing literary meteor should land in every collection.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

April 20, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


The Kindred Spirits Supper Club by Amy E. Reichert

Jobless and forced home to Wisconsin, journalist Sabrina Monroe can tolerate reunions with frenemies and kisses from old boyfriends, but not the literal ghosts that greet her in this heartwarming tale of the power of love and connection from acclaimed author Amy E. Reichert.

“Filled with a strong sense of place, mouthwatering descriptions of food, and a sweet love story (or two), Reichert’s latest (after The Optimist’s Guide to Letting Go, 2018) will surely delight readers. A great read-alike for Sophie Kinsella’s Twenties Girl (2009).” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

April 20, 2021 | Paperback, eBook, and Audio Editions


Olympus, Texas by Stacey Swann

A bighearted debut with technicolor characters, plenty of Texas swagger, and a powder keg of a plot in which marriages struggle, rivalries flare, and secrets explode, all with a clever wink toward classical mythology. (“Wildly entertaining” –Richard Russo)

“Similar in tenor and tone to Brady Udall’s The Lonely Polygamist (2010) and Cristina Alger’s The Darlings (2012), Swann’s rich and compelling novel will delight anyone anxiously awaiting the next season of HBO’s Succession.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

May 4, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Hour of the Witch by Chris Bohjalian

A young Puritan woman–faithful, resourceful, but afraid of the demons that dog her soul–plots her escape from a violent marriage in this riveting and propulsive novel of historical suspense from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Flight Attendant.

“Conjuring up specters of #MeToo recriminations and social media shaming, there are twenty-first-century parallels to Bohjalian’s atmospheric Puritan milieu, and his trademark extensive research pays off in this authentic portrait of courage in the face of society’s worst impulses.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

May 4, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Things We Lost to the Water by Eric Nguyen

A stunning debut novel about an immigrant Vietnamese family who settles in New Orleans and struggles to remain connected to one another as their lives are inextricably reshaped.

“While the story arc might sound familiar—other-side-of-the-world refugees who endure challenging lives in the U.S.—Nguyen’s gentle precision nevertheless produces an extraordinary debut with undeniable resonance.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

May 4, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


While Justice Sleeps by Stacey Abrams

From celebrated national leader and bestselling author Stacey Abrams, While Justice Sleeps is a gripping, complexly plotted thriller set within the halls of the U.S. Supreme Court.

“Assigned the unenviable task of serving as Justice Harris’ legal guardian, Avery must also figure out who is plotting her boss’ demise and why. With the help of her med school roommate, a young lawyer, and Wynn’s hunky son, Avery tracks down fiendishly intricate clues leading to a horrifying secret that implicates powerful and dangerous people.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

May 11, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Phase Six by Jim Shepard

A spare and gripping novel about the next pandemic–completed by the award-winning Jim Shepard before COVID-19 even emerged–that reads like a fictional sequel to our current crisis.

“With word-by-word artistry, fluid compassion, and deep insights, Shepard emphatically dramatizes epic failures, self-sacrificing dedication, desolation, and love.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

May 18, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


NONFICTION:

Ages of American Capitalism: A History of the United States by Jonathan Levy

A leading economic historian traces the evolution of American capitalism from the colonial era to the present—and argues that we’ve reached a turning point that will define the era ahead.

“He soberly examines the sluggishness of that flywheel in recent decades, as anxious Americans have preferred the security of immediate liquidity over the risk of long-term investment. Asserting that only political realignment can restore economic health, Levy’s conclusion will stir debate.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

April 20, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Antitrust: Taking on Monopoly Power from the Gilded Age to the Digital Age by Amy Klobuchar

An important, urgently needed book from the much-admired senior senator from Minnesota, and former candidate for president of the United States–a fascinating exploration of antitrust in America and the way forward to protect all Americans from the dangers of curtailed competition, and from vast information gathering, through monopolies.

“She argues for swift, sweeping reform in economic, legislative, social welfare, and human rights policies. A steady stream of period political cartoons help keep things lively, and her style is engaging and energetic. Expect significant interest.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

April 27, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Stranger Care: A Memoir of Loving What Isn’t Ours by Sarah Sentilles

The moving story of what one woman learned from fostering a newborn—about injustice, about making mistakes, about how to better love and protect people beyond our immediate kin.

“Her story seems to expose the possibility that maybe the only thing we humans can control is how we take care of one another and our world. Memoir lovers and book groups will be enthralled.” — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

May 4, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


King Richard: Nixon and Watergate: An American Tragedy by Michael Dobbs

From the best-selling author of One Minute to Midnight: a riveting account of the crucial days, hours, and moments when the Watergate conspiracy consumed, and ultimately toppled, a president.

This is a compelling, moment-by-moment narrative, psychological as much as political, offering a sense of intimacy with the beleaguered Nixon without mawkishness. — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

May 25, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Helgoland: Making Sense of the Quantum Revolution by Carlo Rovelli

A startling new look at quantum theory, from the bestselling author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics and The Order of Time.

“… a very wide community of readers will thrill to this intellectually exhilarating dive into the profoundest scientific conundrums.”  — Booklist, Starred Review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

May 25, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


AUDIOBOOKS:

The Ratline: The Exalted Life and Mysterious Death of a Nazi Fugitive by Philippe Sands; Read by Philippe Sands, Katja Riemann, and Stephen Fry

From the author of the internationally acclaimed, award-winning East West Street: A tale of Nazi lives, mass murder, love, cold war espionage, a mysterious death in the Vatican–and “the Ratline,” the Nazi escape route to Peron’s Argentina.

“Two uniquely matched voices tell the story of Nazis escaping Europe through Rome’s “Ratline” after WWII. Familiar as the voice for the Winnie-the-Pooh stories, Fry is a close voice match for Sands, who is himself an accomplished narrator.” —AudioFile Earphones Award Winner


Four Hundred Souls: A Community History of African America, 1619-2019 edited by Ibram X. Kendi and Keisha N. Blain; Read by Various

A chorus of extraordinary voices comes together to tell one of history’s great epics: the four-hundred-year journey of African Americans from 1619 to the present—edited by Ibram X. Kendi, author of How to Be an Antiracist, and Keisha N. Blain, author of Set the World on Fire.

An outstanding cast brings these essays and poems vividly to life. . . Many of the accounts depict incredible sacrifice and heroism, and others supply context. All are enhanced by the remarkable narrators. The intense rhythms of the poetry enrich this fine chorus of voices.” —AudioFile Earphones Award Winner


The Get To Principle guides the reader to an experiential understanding of the nature of lifehow “the way you look at life is how you treat life, and the way you treat life is what life becomes.” Instead of living in the past, Larkins encourages readers to tap into the “something” happening in the moment and live in the field of possibility.

“Narrator Kaleo Griffith’s playful tone and youthful timbre convey a cheerful optimism that’s essential for a message like this to hit home. He makes listeners want to answer yes when the author asks if they are ready for a change.”—AudioFile Earphones Award Winner


Catching the Wind: Edward Kennedy and the Liberal Hour, 1932-1975 by Neal Gabler; Read by Joe Barrett

The epic, definitive biography of Ted Kennedy—an immersive journey through the life of a complicated man and a sweeping history of the fall of liberalism and the collapse of political morality.

“Joe Barrett’s commanding performance captures the complicated and flawed life of Edward Kennedy. . .Tragedy and failure are prominent, and Barrett doesn’t flinch, maintaining a clear narrative throughout Kennedy’s highs and lows. Barrett’s performance conveys the learned experience of a man whose life impacted so many; it’s a rewarding listening experience.” —AudioFile Earphones Award Winner


Milo Imagines the World by Matt de la Peña; Read by Dion Graham

The team behind the Newbery Medal winner and Caldecott Honor book Last Stop on Market Street and the award-winning New York Times bestseller Carmela Full of Wishes once again delivers a poignant and timely children’s book that’s sure to become an instant classic.

“Narrator Dion Graham conveys the dreamy quality of Milo’s imaginings, along with a weighty message, in his captivating delivery of this thoughtful children’s story. . .Graham’s voice is large but has gentle robustness that embraces listeners and immerses them in Milo’s thoughts. Graham turns this meaningful story into a heartfelt listening experience for children and adults alike.” —AudioFile Earphones Award Winner


The Blackbird Girls by Anne Blankman; Read by Kathleen Gati and Natasha Soudek
Like Ruta Sepetys for middle grade, Anne Blankman pens a poignant and timeless story of friendship that twines together moments in underexplored history.

“Narrators Kathleen Gati and Natasha Soudek’s voices highlight the power of friendship in the aftermath of the 1986 Chernobyl nuclear disaster. . .Capturing the ensuing events through both girls’ eyes, Gati skillfully depicts their initial confusion and panic, followed by their cautious optimism once they relocate to Leningrad. Gati’s portrayal of Valentina’s grandmother, Rifka, is superb, perfectly conveying her kindness, generosity, and grace. While Gati is the primary narrator, Soudek’s part, focusing on Rifka’s experiences during WWII, is steady and strong, hinting at the resilient woman who Rifka will later become. This sensitively rendered audiobook, so hopeful and brave, is not to be missed.” —AudioFile Earphones Award Winner

Starred Reviews: March 16th, 2021

Category: Reviews
0
30 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *