Help your fiction-focused patrons find their perfect nonfiction match with these titles. From heart-pounding adventure to laugh-out-loud comedy, we’ve got nonfiction titles to sway even the most steadfast fiction fiends.

For our complete list of knockout nonfiction recommendations, view the collection on Edelweiss.


For the Adventure Fiction Thrill Seekers:


We Recommend:

Chasing the Thrill: Obsession, Death, and Glory in America’s Most Extraordinary Treasure Hunt by Daniel Barbarisi

A full-throttle, first-person account of the treasure hunt created by eccentric millionaire art dealer—and, some would say, robber baron—Forrest Fenn that became the stuff of contemporary legend.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For Fans of the Ultimate Con:


We Recommend:

The Confidence Men: How Two Prisoners of War Engineered the Most Remarkable Escape in History by Margalit Fox

The astonishing true story of two World War I prisoners who pulled off one of the most ingenious escapes of all time.

Margalit Fox brings her “nose for interesting facts, the ability to construct a taut narrative arc, and a Dickens-level gift for concisely conveying personality” (Kathryn Schulz, New York) to this tale of psychological strategy that is rife with cunning, danger, and moments of high farce that rival anything in Catch-22.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For the Off-Beat Comedy Lovers:


We Recommend:

Yearbook by Seth Rogen

A collection of funny personal essays from one of the writers of Superbad and Pineapple Express and one of the producers of The Disaster Artist, Neighbors, and The Boys.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For the Feel-Good Fiction Fiends:


We Recommend:

The Comfort Book by Matt Haig

Incorporating a diverse array of sources from across the world, history, science, and his own experiences, Haig offers warmth and reassurance, reminding us to slow down and appreciate the beauty and unpredictability of existence.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For the Inter-Generational Crime Junkie:


We Recommend:

Empire of Pain: The Secret History of the Sackler Dynasty by Patrick Radden Keefe

A grand, devastating portrait of three generations of the Sackler family, famed for their philanthropy, whose fortune was built by Valium and whose reputation was destroyed by OxyContin, by the prize-winning, bestselling author of Say Nothing.

Click for More Information.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


For the Reader Riding Out Wedding Season:

We Recommend:

Mergers and Acquisitions: Or, Everything I Know About Love I Learned on the Wedding Pages by Cate Doty

A compulsively readable behind-the-scenes memoir that takes readers inside the weddings section of The New York Times—the good, bad, and just plain weird—through the eyes of a young reporter just as she’s falling in love herself.

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.

Nonfiction Read-Alikes for Fiction Fans

Category: Staff Picks
0
142 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *