We’re thrilled that Overdrive’s Professional Book Nerds has interviewed so many Penguin Random House authors over the years. Select the episodes below to browse a number of our authors featured on the Professional Book Nerds Podcast, or check out the full list of episodes on professionalbooknerds.com.

Click to view the audiobook collection of our authors featured on Professional Book Nerds


Madeleine Roux on trauma, building worlds, and the terror of isolation

Reclaimed by Madeleine Roux

In this claustrophobic science fiction thriller, a woman begins to doubt her own sanity and reality itself when she undergoes a dangerous experiment.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Sample of the Audiobook.


Surviving the horror genre with Grady Hendrix

The Final Girl Support Group: A Novel by Grady Hendrix

In horror movies, the final girls are the ones left standing when the credits roll. They made it through the worst night of their lives…but what happens after?

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Sample of the Audiobook.


Interview with Helen Ellis

Bring Your Baggage and Don’t Pack Light: Essays by Helen Ellis

The bestselling author of American Housewife and Southern Lady Code returns with a viciously funny, deeply felt collection of essays on friendship among grown-ass women.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Sample of the Audiobook.


Passing down family stories with Maria Kuznetsova

Something Unbelievable: A Novel by Maria Kuznetsova

An overwhelmed new mom discovers unexpected parallels between life in twenty-first-century America and her grandmother’s account of their family’s escape from the Nazis in this sharp, heartfelt novel.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Sample of the Audiobook.


Christina Henry returns to scare the hell out of you

Near the Bone by Christina Henry

A woman trapped on a mountain attempts to survive more than one kind of monster, in a dread-inducing horror novel from the national bestselling author Christina Henry.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Sample of the Audiobook.


Interview with Jesse Q. Sutanto, author of Dial A for Aunties

Dial A for Aunties: A Novel by Jesse Q Sutanto

What happens when you mix 1 (accidental) murder with 2 thousand wedding guests, and then toss in a possible curse on 3 generations of an immigrant Chinese-Indonesian family?

You get 4 meddling Asian aunties coming to the rescue!

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Sample of the Audiobook.


On flawed superheroes and mochi with Sarah Kuhn

From Little Tokyo, with Love by Sarah Kuhn

Celebrated author Sarah Kuhn reinvents the modern fairy tale in this intensely personal yet hilarious novel of a girl whose search for a storybook ending takes her to unexpected places in both her beloved LA neighborhood and her own guarded heart.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Sample of the Audiobook.


On the mysteries of the sea and loneliness with Emma Stonex

The Lamplighters: A Novel by Emma Stonex

Inspired by a haunting true story, a gorgeous and atmospheric novel about the mysterious disappearance of three lighthouse keepers from a remote tower miles from the Cornish coast–and about the wives who were left behind.

Click for More Information.

Click to Listen to a Sample of the Audiobook.


On isolation and life re-entry with Suleika Jaouad

Between Two Kingdoms: A Memoir of a Life Interrupted by Suleika Jaouad

In this searing memoir of illness and recovery, an Emmy Award-winning writer traces her journey from diagnosis to remission, and ultimately her cross-country road trip of healing and self-discovery.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Clip of the Audiobook.


Magical world building and writing through trauma with Elizabeth Knox

The Absolute Book: A Novel by Elizabeth Knox

A bewitching epic fantasy about a revenge killing, a mysterious scroll box that has survived centuries of fires, and the book that changed everything.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to Listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Vikings and witches with Genevieve Gornichec

The Witch’s Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

Click for more information.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Dr. Keisha N. Blain on Four Hundred Souls and African American history

Four Hundred Souls: A Community History of African America, 1619-2019 edited by Ibram X. Kendi and Keisha N. Blain

A chorus of extraordinary voices tells the epic story of the four-hundred-year journey of African Americans from 1619 to the present—edited by Ibram X. Kendi, author of How to Be an Antiracist, and Keisha N. Blain, author of Set the World on Fire.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Max Brooks on Sasquatch, Minecraft, and a lifetime of storytelling

Devolution by Max Brooks

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of World War Z reinvents the Bigfoot legend with a thriller that blends fact and fiction, natural and supernatural—human and beast.

Click for more information.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Robert Jones, Jr. – Author of The Prophets and creator of Son of Baldwin

The Prophets by Robert Jones, Jr.

A singular and stunning debut novel about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation, the refuge they find in each other, and a betrayal that threatens their existence.

Click for more information.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Ashley Audrain, author of The Push

The Push by Ashley Audrain

A tense, page-turning psychological drama about the making and breaking of a family—and a woman whose experience of motherhood is nothing at all what she hoped for—and everything she feared.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Interview with Yaa Gyasi, author of Transcendent Kingdom

Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi

Yaa Gyasi’s stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national best seller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Getting spooky with Christina Henry, author of The Ghost Tree

The Ghost Tree by Christina Henry

When people go missing in the sleepy town of Smith’s Hollow, the only clue to their fate comes when a teenager starts having terrifying visions, in a chilling horror novel from national bestselling author Christina Henry.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Interview with Alexis Henderson, author of The Year of the Witching

 The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson

A young woman living in a rigid, puritanical society discovers dark powers within herself in this stunning, feminist fantasy debut.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Ep. #445 – Interview with Emma Straub

All Adults Here by Emma Straub

A warm, funny, and keenly perceptive novel about the life cycle of one family–as the kids become parents, grandchildren become teenagers, and a matriarch confronts the legacy of her mistakes. From the New York Times bestselling author of Modern Lovers and The Vacationers.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Ep. #441 – Francesca Serritella

Ghosts of Harvard by Francesca Serritella

In this page-turning and affecting fiction debut, a Harvard freshman becomes obsessed with her schizophrenic brother’s suicide. Then she starts hearing voices. . .

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


Ep. #431 – Rachel Harrison

 The Return by Rachel Harrison

A group of friends reunite after one of them has returned from a mysterious two-year disappearance in this edgy and haunting debut.

Click for more information.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


 

Ep. #429 – Emily St. John Mandel

The Glass Hotel by Emily St. John Mandel

From the award-winning author of Station Eleven, an exhilarating novel set at the glittering intersection of two seemingly disparate events—the exposure of a massive criminal enterprise and the mysterious disappearance of a woman from a ship at sea.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


 

Ep. #427 – Stephanie Wrobel

Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel

Mothers never forget. Daughters never forgive.

In her compulsive, sharply-drawn debut, Stephanie Wrobel peels back the layers of the most complicated of mother-daughter relationships.

Click for more information.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


 

 

Bonus Episode! Colum McCann, National Book Award-winning author of Apeirogon

Apeirogon by Colum McCann

The National Book Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Let the Great World Spin tells an epic story rooted in the real-life friendship between two men united by loss in this daring, symphonic novel.

Click for more information.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


 

Ep. #421 – Elizabeth Little

Pretty as a Picture by Elizabeth Little

An egomaniacal movie director, an isolated island, and a decades-old murder—the addictive new novel from the bestselling author of Dear Daughter.

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


 

Ep. #417 – Phil Stamper

The Gravity of Us by Phil Stamper; Read by Michael Crouch, Jonathan Davis, Gabra Zackman, January LaVoy, Angelo Di Loreto, Chris Andrew Ciulla, Dorothy Dillingham Blue, Cynthia Farrell, Soneela Nankani, Sullivan Jones, Bahni Turpin and Phil Stamper

Teen boys find love when their parents’ NASA mission uproots their lives in this sweet debut perfect for Adam Silvera fans.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


 

Ep. #416 – Marie Benedict, PBN All-Star

Also by Marie Benedict:

 The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray

The remarkable, little-known story of Belle da Costa Greene, J. P. Morgan’s personal librarian—who became one of the most powerful women in New York despite the dangerous secret she kept in order to make her dreams come true, from New York Times bestselling author Marie Benedict and acclaimed author Victoria Christopher Murray.

Click for more information.

Click for information about the audiobook.


 

Ep. #412: LOIS LOWRY!

On the Horizon by Lois Lowry; Read by Lois Lowry

From two-time Newbery medalist and living legend Lois Lowry comes a moving account of the lives lost in two of WWII’s most infamous events: Pearl Harbor and Hiroshima.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


 

Ep. #409 – Andrea Barber aka Kimmy Gibbler!

Full Circle: From Hollywood to Real Life and Back Again by Andrea Barber

She grew up in front of the world on the beloved sitcom Full House, but then actress Andrea Barber abruptly left Hollywood. Why did she leave and what did she do for twenty years out of the spotlight before returning to television? This is her funny and inspiring memoir of fame, heartache, resilience—and the reboot of a lifetime . . .

Click to read an excerpt.


 

Ep. #401 – Katharine McGee, author of American Royals

 American Royals by Katharine McGee

What if America had a royal family? If you can’t get enough of Harry and Meghan or Kate and William, meet American princesses Beatrice and Samantha. Crazy Rich Asians meets The Crown. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

Click to read an excerpt.

Click to listen to a clip of the audiobook.


 

Listen to Our Authors on The Professional Book Nerds Podcast

Category: Book Extras
0
276 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *