starred reviews header

With starred reviews from publications including Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, Publishers WeeklyLibrary Journal, and AudioFile—your patrons will want to read these much-anticipated books that reviewers are raving about.

FICTION:

The Queen’s Weapons by Anne Bishop

Enter the dark and sensual realms of the Black Jewels, a world where power always has a price, in this sweeping story in the New York Times bestselling fantasy saga.

“The latest ‘Black Jewels’ novel (after The Queen’s Bargain) continues to deliver dark fantasy with lush world building, strong characters, and high-stakes action.”—Library Journal, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

On Sale March 9, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


The Witch’s Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

“A retelling of the Norse legend from the viewpoint of a woman often left in the margins, this book deserves to be a classic. For readers of Madeline Miller’s Circe and the Marvel version of Loki.”— Library Journal, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

On Sale February 9, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


The Ruthless Lady’s Guide to Wizardry by C. M. Waggoner

Sparks fly in this enchanting fantasy novel from the author of Unnatural Magic when a down-and-out fire witch and a young gentlewoman join forces against a deadly conspiracy.

“Waggoner crafts an excellent historical fantasy that also manages to have a sweet and hot love story at the center. At turns laugh-out-loud funny and heartwarming, this fast-paced book is for fans of romance, historical fantasy, and Theodora Goss’s ‘Athena Club’ series.”— Library Journal, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

On Sale January 12, 2021 | Trade Paperback and eBook Editions


The Push by Ashley Audrain

A tense, page-turning psychological drama about the making and breaking of a family—and a woman whose experience of motherhood is nothing at all what she hoped for—and everything she feared.

“For readers who enjoyed the darkness of Oyinkan Braithwaite’s My Sister, the Serial Killer, Ottessa Moshfegh’s Eileen, or Joyce Carol Oates’s Jack of Spades.”— Library Journal, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click to Watch Ashley Audrain Discuss her Debut Novel.

Good Morning America has chosen The Push by Ashley Audrain as their book club pick for January! Click HERE to watch the Announcement.

Available Now | Hardcover, eBook, Audio, and Large Print Editions


Shiver by Allie Reynolds

In this propulsive locked-room thriller debut, a reunion weekend in the French Alps turns deadly when five friends discover that someone has deliberately stranded them at their remote mountaintop resort during a snowstorm.

“The story alternates between the present and 10 years prior, ratcheting up the suspense and spooling out a cast of intriguing characters drawn together atop a picturesque yet deadly mountain. Reynolds, a former international snowboarder, delivers the thrills in her must-read debut.”— Library Journal, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

On Sale January 19, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


The Forever Sea by Joshua Phillip Johnson

The first book in a new environmental epic fantasy series set in a world where ships kept afloat by magical hearthfires sail an endless grass sea.

“Johnson’s beautiful coming-of-age saga touches on subjects of conservation, water rights, morality, and relationships, without mentioning them outright. The world he builds is very different from ours but with some of the same problems. The book’s setting and plot are so original as to be a breath of fresh air to the fantasy genre.”— Library Journal, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

On Sale January 19, 2021 | Hardcover and eBook Editions


NONFICTION:

Speak, Okinawa: A Memoir by Elizabeth Miki Brina

A searing, deeply candid memoir about a young woman’s journey to understanding her complicated parents–her mother an Okinawan war bride, her father a Vietnam veteran–and her own, fraught cultural heritage.

“A can’t-miss memoir that will stay with readers after they finish the last page.”— Library Journal, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

On Sale February 23, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions

 


A Promised Land by Barack Obama

A riveting, deeply personal account of history in the making—from the president who inspired us to believe in the power of democracy.

“An eloquently written, enjoyable, and important memoir that will have a wide readership. Highly recommended for all collections.”—Library Journal, starred review

 

 

Available Now | Hardcover, eBook, Audio, and Large Print Editions

 


Religion and the Rise of Capitalism by Benjamin M. Friedman

From one of the nation’s preeminent experts on economic policy, a major reassessment of the foundations of modern economic thinking that explores the profound influence of an until-now unrecognized force–religion.

“Friedman has made an important contribution to the literature on the intertwining of Western economic thought with religious beliefs. His detailed tracing of the philosophical and theological roots of free market economics is well researched, well written, and well worth reading.”—Library Journal, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

January 26, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


A Little Devil in America:  Notes in Praise of Black Performance by Hanif Abdurraqib

A stirring meditation on Black performance in America from the New York Times bestselling author of Go Ahead in the Rain.

“Social criticism, pop culture, and autobiography come together neatly in these pages, and every sentence is sharp, provocative, and self-aware. . . Another winner from Abdurraqib, a writer always worth paying attention to.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

March 30, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Under A White Sky: The Nature of the Future by Elizabeth Kolbert

The Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Sixth Extinction returns to humanity’s transformative impact on the environment, now asking: After doing so much damage, can we change nature, this time to save it?

“Can we and the world be saved from ourselves? That’s an up-in-the-air question, but the author holds out hope in a program that makes use of geoengineering, which, though highly speculative, is something that must be considered. Urgent, absolutely necessary reading as a portrait of our devastated planet.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

February 9, 2021 | Hardcover and eBook Editions



The Conversation: How Seeking and Speaking the Truth About Racism Can Radically Transform Individuals and Organizations
by Robert Livingston

An essential tool for individuals, organizations, and communities of all sizes to jump-start dialogue on racism and bias and to transform well-intentioned statements on diversity into concrete actions—from a leading Harvard social psychologist.

“This rubric informs the discussion questions that end each of the sections, making the book useful for business, social, or educational groups as well as for individual readers. Racism, Livingston believes, is a ‘solvable problem.’ A cogent, hopeful contribution to an urgent issue.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

February 2, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


The Sum Of Us: What Racism Costs Everyone and How We Can Prosper Together by Heather McGhee

One of today’s most insightful and influential thinkers offers a powerful exploration of inequality and the lesson that generations of Americans have failed to learn: Racism has a cost for everyone—not just for people of color.

“A head-on consideration of the costs of American racism. . .Restoring public goods is only a start in addressing those costs; the larger task, she writes provocatively, is getting Americans of all ethnicities to believe that ‘we need each other.’An eye-opening, powerful argument for working ever harder for racial equity.”—Kirkus, starred review

“McGhee marshals a wealth of information into a cohesive narrative that ends on a hopeful note. This sharp, thorough, and engrossing report casts America’s racial divide in a new light.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

February 16, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


 

Four Hundred Souls: A Community History Of African America, 1619-2019 by Ibram X. Kendi & Keisha N. Blain

A chorus of extraordinary voices comes together to tell one of history’s great epics: the four-hundred-year journey of African Americans from 1619 to the present—edited by Ibram X. Kendi, author of How to Be an Antiracist, and Keisha N. Blain, author of Set the World on Fire.

“With a diverse range of up-and-coming scholars, activists, and writers exploring topics both familiar and obscure, this energetic collection stands apart from standard anthologies of African American history.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

Every voice in this “cabinet of curiosities’ is stellar. . . An impeccable, epic, essential vision of American history as a whole and a testament to the resilience of Black people.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

February 2, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, Audio, and Large Print Editions


A Swim In A Pond In The Rain: In Which Four Russians Give A Master Class On Writing, Reading, And Life by George Saunders

From the New York Times bestselling, Booker Prize–winning author of Lincoln in the Bardo and Tenth of December comes a literary master class on what makes great stories work and what they can tell us about ourselves—and our world today.

“An invaluable and uniquely pleasurable master course and a generous celebration of reading, writing, and all the ways literature enriches our lives.”—Booklist, starred review

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

January 12, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions


Audiobooks:

Big Sur by Jack Kerouac; Foreword by Aram Saroyan; Read by Ethan Hawke

A poignant masterpiece of wrenching personal expression from the author of On the Road and The Dharma Bums.

“Ethan Hawke doesn’t just give a stellar performance. He delivers a living embodiment of Kerouac’s work, sustaining a quality that’s consistently startling. . . Hawke’s skill here is to project this work as a kind of a sustained open mic—his highs and lows among and between the words are like waves crashing on the rocks.”—AudioFile Earphones Award Winner

Available Now | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Download Editions

 

 

Starred Reviews: January 2021

Category: Reviews
0
9 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *