Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the January 2021 LibraryReads Top Ten List.

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your January Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


The Children’s Blizzard by Melanie Benjamin

“A deadly snowstorm roared through the Great Plains on
January 12, 1888, at a time when many children were in
school with teachers little older than themselves. Based
on actual oral histories of survivors, and told from
perspectives of teachers, students, and the media, this
book is perfect for readers who enjoy historical fiction by Ariel Lawhon and Marie Benedict.”

—Wendy Paige, Shelby County Public Library, Shelbyville, KY
NoveList read-alike: Answer Creek by Ashley E. Sweeney

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click to Watch Melanie Discuss Her Novel at ARSL.


The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon

“Shay’s lifelong dream has been to be in radio, and she’s been working at a Seattle NPR station since she was 19. Ten years later, she and new wunderkind Dominic create a show around the idea that they’re exes talking about relationships. The burn between Shay and Dominic is slow, intense, and HOT. Give to fans of The Kiss Quotient and The Hating Game.”

—Jessica Werner, Seattle Public Library, Seattle, WA
NoveList read-alike: Loathe at First Sight by Suzanne Park

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

 


The Perfect Guests by Emma Rous

“When down-on-her-luck Sadie is offered a lucrative weekend acting job at a sumptuous Raven Hall, as a guest in a period mystery event, she jumps at the chance. Before the weekend is over, Sadie and the other “perfect guests” will learn about Raven Hall’s tragic past.”

—Cynthia Hunt, Amarillo Public Library, Amarillo, TX
NoveList read-alike: The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

 


The Push by Ashley Audrain

“Blythe comes from a long line of women not cut out to be mothers. When she falls in love with a man who wants nothing more than a happy family she tells herself she can be a good mother. When her daughter is born however she finds that motherhood is just not that simple. For readers who enjoyed The Woman in the Window (Finn) or Baby Teeth (Stage.)”

—Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: The Unprotected by Kelly Sokol

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


Siri, Who Am I? by Sam Tschida

“Mia awakes in a hospital in a gold cocktail dress, a cape covered in her blood, a head wound and her cell phone, and no memory of who she is or how she got there. She uses her Instagram account tobegin to piece together her life. For readers who enjoyed Surprise Me (Kinsella) and What Alice Forgot (Moriarty).”

—Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

NoveList read-alike: The One that Got Away by Leigh Himes

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the February LibraryReads list ends 1/1!

Check out which February titles we’re loving.

Announcing the January 2021 LibraryReads List!

Category: Awards
0
294 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *