Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the December  2020 LibraryReads Top Ten List, including #1 Pick, HOW TO FAIL AT FLIRTING, Hall of Fame Pick’s, THE DARK ARCHIVE and PERESTROIKA IN PARIS, and more!

Click to Request eGalleys to Prepare for Your December Readers’ Advisory.

Click to Learn More About our LibraryReads picks on Audio.


#1 PICK:

How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams 

“Naya, a straight-laced professor, meets charismatic Jake at a bar. He might check off one item on Naya’s boundary-pushing to-do list—if only he wasn’tin charge of defunding her department at the university. How can they balance a relationship and a professional career? For fans of The Kiss Quotient, The Wedding Date, and The Hating Game.

—Kari Bingham-Gutierrez, Olathe Public Library, Olathe, KS
NoveList read-alike: The Trouble with Hating You by Sajni Patel

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


This Time Next Year by Sophie Cousens

“Minnie Cooper and Quinn Hamilton were born in the same hospital on January 1, 1990. After a series of missed connections, they are about to meet again on New Year’s Day 2020. This Time Next Year hits the perfect note for readers who enjoyed Bridget Jones’ Diary and the original Shopaholic.—Janet Schneider, Peninsula Public Library, Lawrence, NY

NoveList read-alike: One Day in December by Josie Silver

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


HALL OF FAME: 

The Dark Archive by Genevieve Cogman (Hall of Fame)

“Time-traveling librarian/spy Irene Winters is
having a week: dodging assassins, training a
Fae intern, and contending with her dragon
lover’s meddling brother. Colorful characters, a
lightning pace, and a surprising revelation will
please fans of Cogman’s Invisible Library series.”
—Lucy Lockley, St. Charles City County Library, St. Peters, MO

Read-alike: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab
Read-alike: The Library of the Unwritten by A.J. Hackwith
Read-alike: Ex Libris: Stories of Librarians, Libraries, and Lore
edited by Paula Guran

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.


Perestroika in Paris: A Novel  by Jane Smiley (Hall of Fame)

“Smiley writes the perfect book to help you escape: Like Charlotte’s Web for grown-ups (but
no spiders die!). Lovable, charming animals—an adventurous racehorse, a lonely dog, a know-itall raven, a pair of ducks—interact with one another and with the compassionate humans
they encounter in the City of Lights.” —Nancy Wiseman, Carmel Clay Public Library, Carmel, IN

Read-alike: The Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Read-alike: Sirius by Jonathan Crown
Read-alike: A Dog’s Life by Peter Mayle

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

 


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the January LibraryReads list ends 12/1!

Check out which January titles we’re loving.

Announcing the December 2020 LibraryReads List!

Category: Uncategorized
0
41 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *