Do you ever wonder what would happen if Cinderella’s glass slipper didn’t fit? If Aurora wasn’t waiting for Prince Charming’s kiss at all? Or if Little Red Riding Hood wasn’t as vulnerable as she first appears? These enchanted fairy tale retellings will transport you to a land far, far away—but one you may never have imagined. Perfect for your patrons and for your future collections.


What If. . . Happily Ever After Lost Its Magic?

Fairy Godmothers, Inc. by Saranna DeWylde

Armed with her trademark mix of quirky charm, witty comedy, and sexy paranormal romance, Saranna DeWylde takes readers on a rollicking ride through twisted fairy tales and towards the ultimate Happily Ever After in her first Fairy Godmothers, Inc. Series installment.

Ever After is a town that runs on magic, and that magic is fueled by love. So when the three fairy godmothers in charge of Ever After’s magic supply realize the town’s power has started to wane, they conspire to transform Ever After into a premiere wedding destination in hopes of attracting a major infusion of love to the town…

On Sale December 29, 2020 | Trade Paperback and eBook Editions.

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click for eBook Information.


What If . . . Cinderella Took Off Her Glass Slipper?

The Charmed Wife by Olga Grushin

From the award-winning author comes a sophisticated literary fairy tale for the twenty-first century, in which Cinderella, thirteen years after her marriage, is on the brink of leaving her supposedly perfect life behind.

For readers of Helen Oyeyemi, Madeline Miller, Sarah Perry, Karen Russell, Kelly Link, Angela Carter, and Diane Setterfield.

On Sale January 12, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions.

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


What If . . . the Desire to Become a “Real Boy”  Takes a Turn for the Worst?

Swallowed Man by Edward Carey

The ingenious storyteller Edward Carey returns to reimagine a time-honored fable: the story of an impatient father, a rebellious son, and a watery path to forgiveness for the young man known as Pinocchio.

With all the charm, atmosphere, and emotional depth for which Edward Carey is known—and featuring his trademark fantastical illustrations—The Swallowed Man is a parable of parenthood, loss, and letting go, from a creative mind on a par with Gregory Maguire, Neil Gaiman, and Tim Burton.

On Sale January 26, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions.

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


What If . . . the Burning Was Just the Start of a Witch’s Story?

The Witch’s Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

When a banished witch falls in love with the legendary trickster Loki, she risks the wrath of the gods in this moving, subversive debut novel that reimagines Norse mythology.

For fans of retellings of myth and fable, and readers of Madeline Miller’s Circe, Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology, and Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale.

On Sale February 9, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions.

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


What If . . . There Was a Place Where Time Stood Still?   

The Memory Theater by Karin Tidbeck

From the award-winning author of Amatka and Jagannath–a fantastical tour de force about friendship, interdimensional theater, and a magical place where no one ages, except the young.

It’s a place where feasts never end, games of croquet have devastating consequences, and teenagers are punished for growing up.

On Sale February 16, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions.

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


What If . . . True Love’s Kiss Went Awry?

Malice by Heather Walter

A princess isn’t supposed to fall for an evil sorceress. But in this darkly magical retelling of “Sleeping Beauty,” true love is more than a simple fairy tale.

For fans of feminist fairy tale retellings such as Spinning Silver, The Bear and the Nightingale, and Gods of Jade and Shadow.

On Sale April 13, 2021 | Hardcover, eBook, and Audio Editions.

Click to Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Click to Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

 Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


What If . . . the Dragon Doesn’t Choose the Most Beautiful Maiden?

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

“Breathtaking . . . a tale that is both elegantly grand and earthily humble, familiar as a Grimm fairy tale yet fresh, original, and totally irresistible.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A fantastical Beauty and the Beast type tale for readers of Gregory Maguire, Maggie Stiefvater, Holly Black, and Kristin Cashore.

Available Now | Hardcover, Trade Paperback, eBook, and Audio Editions.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Clip from the Audiobook.

Click for eBook Information.
Click for Audiobook Information.

 What If . . . a Young Girl’s Boast Has Icy Consequences?  

Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik

With the Nebula Award–winning Uprooted, Naomi Novik opened a brilliant new chapter in an already acclaimed career, delving into the magic of fairy tales to craft a love story that was both timeless and utterly of the now. Spinning Silver draws readers deeper into this glittering realm of fantasy, where the boundary between wonder and terror is thinner than a breath, and safety can be stolen as quickly as a kiss.

This imaginative retelling of the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale is perfect for fans of Once Upon a TimeMaleficentNight CircusCinderella and Discovery of Witches.

Available Now | Hardcover, Trade Paperback, eBook, and Audio Editions.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Clip from the Audiobook.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


What If . . . a Young Girl Embraces the Power of Her Dark Gifts?

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden

The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden

A young woman’s family is threatened by forces both real and fantastical in this debut series inspired by Russian fairy tales.

“A beautiful deep-winter story, full of magic and monsters and the sharp edges of growing up.”—Naomi Novik, bestselling author of Uprooted

Click for Series Information on Edelweiss.

Click for Series Audiobook Information.

Available Now | Hardcover, Trade Paperback, eBook, and Audio Editions.


What If . . .  Red Was No Longer Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf?

The Girl in Red by Christina Henry

From the national bestselling author of Alice comes a post-apocalyptic take on the perennial classic “Little Red Riding Hood” . . . about a woman who isn’t as defenseless as she seems.

For fans of post-apocalyptic stories and fairy tales, as well as readers of Neil Gaiman, Anne Bishop, and Kelly Link.

Available Now | Trade Paperback, eBook, and Audio Editions.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to a Clip from the Audiobook.

Click for eBook Information.

Click for Audiobook Information.


What If . . .  the Trail Of Bread Crumbs Did Not Lead Home?

Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville

A captivating and atmospheric historical novel about a young girl in Nazi Germany, a psychoanalyst in fin-de-siècle Vienna, and the powerful mystery that links them together.

Available Now | Trade Paperback and eBook Editions.

 

 



Magical Listens for the Whole Family

“Once upon a time” has never sounded quite like this…check out these magical listens featuring fun twists on some beloved tales, as well as the classics that all ages know and love. Perfect for family travel recommendations.

Click for Fairy Tale-Related Audiobooks.

Escape Into Fairy Tales

Category: Book PromoWhat We're Reading
0
71 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *