Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the August 2020 LibraryReads Top Ten List, including the Hall of Fame Pick Lions of Fifth Avenue by Fiona Davis!

Click to Prepare for Your August Readers’ Advisory.


Lions of Fifth Avenue: A Novel by Fiona Davis (Hall of Fame)

“A glimpse into women’s lives in 1913 and 1993, with the narrative centering on the New York Public Library. Davis always places female characters from the past and present in an iconic New York building. This book was especially wonderful as it’s a love letter to librarians.” —Donna Ballard, East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, NY

Read-alikes: Carnegie’s Maid by Marie Benedict, Magician’s Lie by Greer MacAllister, and Unforgivable Love by Sophfronia Scott


Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents by Isabel Wilkerson

“A magisterial overview of how caste has been implemented in three different places. This is an important look at how the U.S., Nazi Germany, and India implemented caste and how it affects each country. Don’t think that this is a dry academic read; Wilkerson is a genius with words and incorporates her own experiences throughout the book. For readers of Stamped and The New Jim Crow.”—Jennifer Schultz, Fauquier County Public Library, Warrenton, VA

NoveList read-alike: White Trash by Nancy Isenberg


Squeeze Me: A Novel by Carl Hiaasen

“Angie runs her own business, Discreet Captures, in Palm Beach, FL where she traps and relocates wildlife. She receives a call from the caretaker of a local estate about a giant python and manages to remove the snake without offending party guests. But what happened to Kiki Pew, the wealthy hostess who seems to have vanished from the
event? For fans of satirical thrillers and Florida.”—Linda Tilden, Mt. Laurel Public Library, Mt. Laurel, NJ

NoveList read-alike: Florida Man by Tom Cooper


Vanessa Yu’s Magical Paris Tea Shop by Roselle Lim

Vanessa is an accountant with the power of clairvoyance. She travels to a tea shop in Paris to learn to control her predictions with the help of her Aunt Evelyn. There, she finds a new purpose by connecting the people around her and just might find true love for herself. Sweet, romantic, and cozy. For readers who enjoyed Number
One Chinese Restaurant and Kitchens of the Great Midwest.” —Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

NoveList read-alike: Crazy Cupid Love by Amanda Heger


Announcing the August 2020 LibraryReads List!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
75 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *