Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the July 2020 LibraryReads Top Ten List, including the Top Pick Peace Talks by Jim Butcher!

Click to Prepare for Your July Readers’ Advisory.

LibraryReads make great listens!
Recommend July’s LibraryReads via your Digital Audiobook Collection.


Malorie by Josh Malerman (HALL OF FAME)

“It’s been several years since Malorie and her two young children arrived at The Janet Tucker School For the Blind. Olympia and Tom, now teenagers, crave to see the world. But at what cost? Malerman is a master of suspenseful terror and escalating mistrust. Unlike Birdbox, this latest installment is also filled with hope.” —KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Read-alike: The Passage by Justin Cronin
Read-alike: The Fireman by Joe Hill
Read-alike: The Changeling by Victor LaValle


Playing Nice by JP Delaney (HALL OF FAME)

“Two babies are switched at birth in the NICU. One has severe disabilities, the other doesn’t. Two years later, the families learn of the mistake and their lives–and lies–become more entangled. Highly recommended for fans of psychological thrillers who are tired of typical plotlines.”—Kelly Verheyden, San Diego Public Library, San Diego, CA

Read-alike: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell
Read-alike: The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena
Read-alike: The Other Couple by Louise Candlish


Peace Talks by Jim Butcher (TOP PICK)

“Eagerly awaited by wizard Harry Dresden’s legion of fans, this 16th book in the series is definitely worth the wait. Wonderful scenes feature magical illusions, and many familiar characters return for peace talks in Chicago. Not much is peaceful for Harry, as the wizards might kick him off the White Council, faerie Queen Mab wants him to do a couple of favors for vampire Lara, and Harry’s half-brother is in prison after an assassination attempt. For series fans of The Hollows, The Iron Druid Chronicles, and The Nightside.“—Brenda O’Brien, Woodridge Public Library, Woodridge, IL

NoveList read-alike: The Arcadia Project series by Mishell Baker


One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London

“In this hilarious and poignant rom-com debut, Bea Schumacher is a highly influential, body positive, heartbroken fashion blogger, who one day writes a blistering, viral, blog post about the lack of diversity on her favorite reality tv dating show, Main Squeeze. For readers who enjoyed Bridget Jones’s Diary and Me Before You.” —Ann-Marie Anderson, Tigard Public Library, Tigard, OR

NoveList read-alike: Insert Groom Here by K.M. Jackson


For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the August LibraryReads list ends 7/1!

Check out which August titles we’re loving.

 

Announcing the July 2020 LibraryReads List!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
60 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *