Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the March 2020 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your March Readers’ Advisory.

The Red Lotus by Chris Bohjalian (Hall of Fame)
“In the aftermath of her boyfriend’s disappearance in contemporary Vietnam, a New York ER doctor discovers the shocking truth about his secret life. This is an exciting edge-of-your-seat thriller that will keep you reading well into the night.”—Marion Sheehan, Canterbury Public Library, Canterbury, CT

Read-alike: Outbreak by Robin Cook
Read-alike: The Escape Artist by Brad Meltzer
Read-alike: Life Support by Tess Gerritsen

Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel
“Terrific psychological suspense based on an actual case where a mother deliberately made her daughter sick for years. The story is told in alternating perspectives from the points of view of Rose Gold and her mother, Patty, complex characters who are masterfully drawn, seeming sympathetic at some points and unsympathetic in others. For readers who liked The Silent Patient and The Execution of Noa P. Singleton.” —Alice Kober, Arapahoe Library District, Englewood, CO

NoveList read-alike: Mother, Mother by Karen Zailckas

The Glass Hotel: A Novel by Emily St. John Mandel
“A gorgeously written, immersive book about how easy it is to cross lines into questionable moral territory. At its center is Vincent, who loses her mother when she’s 13 and as an adult makes her way into the heart of the Country of Money in New York City. Narrated by a number of well-drawn characters in a shifting timeline. For fans of A Visit from the Goon Squad and The Goldfinch.” —Diana Armstrong, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

NoveList read-alike: The Luminous Heart of Jonah S. by Gina Barkhordar Nahai

A Murderous Relation by Deanna Raybourn
“Veronica Speedwell and her partner, Stoker, find themselves involved in a mystery that coincides with the killing spree of Jack the Ripper. For fans of the Ladies Travelers Guide series and the Amelia Peabody mysteries. “—Stacy Tomaszewski, Alameda County Library, San Jose, CA

NoveList read-alike: The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Return by Rachel Harrison
“The story of a creepy hotel, a mysterious disappearance and reappearance, and the complexities of friendships. For fans of Stephen King and Thomas Harris.” —Kate Currie, Hennepin County Library, Hennepin County, MN

NoveList read-alike: My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

The Two Lives of Lydia Bird: A Novel by Josie Silver
“A beautifully written exploration of heartbreak and grief, that takes place over the course of 18 months after Lydia loses her fiance Freddie in a tragic accident. For fans of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan.”—Ashley Giangregorgio, Virginia Beach Public Library, Virginia Beach, VA

NoveList read-alike: Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch

Undercover Bromance by Lyssa Kay Adams
“Take one romancereading hero, his bromance book club, and add a wickedly strong heroine. This one strikes the right balance of snark, heart, and humor. For fans of Alexa Martin and Julie James.” —Jennifer Asimakopoulos, Indian Prairie Public Library, Darien, IL

NoveList read-alike: The Full series by Janet Evanovich and Charlotte Hughes

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the April LibraryReads list ends 3/1!

Check out which April titles we’re loving.

wwyr-for-april-2020

Announcing the March 2020 LibraryReads List!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
526 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *