Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the February 2020 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your February Readers’ Advisory.

The Sun Down Motel (Hall of Fame)
by Simone St. James
“Another chilling ghost story from St. James, who seems to surpass the level of shiver with each book. A young woman uncovers old secrets and stirs up vengeful ghosts when she travels to upstate New York in search of an aunt who disappeared 35 years earlier.” –Patricia Uttaro, Monroe County Library System, Rochester, NY

Read-alikes:
The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon
The Vanishing by Wendy Webb
The Ghost Orchid by Carol Goodman
An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

The Authenticity Project: A Novel (Top Pick)
by Clare Pooley
“Julian, Monica, and others present themselves publicly in one way, but their entries in an Authenticity Project notebook reveal them to be more insecure, eager to change, and ultimately more interesting. A heartwarming story about how not everyone tells the truth about who they are. For fans of The School of Essential Ingredients, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and A Man Called Ove.” —Maggie Holmes, Richards Memorial Library, North Attleboro, MA

NoveList read-alike: Meet Me at the Museum by Anne Youngson

The Girl in White Gloves: A Novel of Grace Kelly
by Kerri Maher
“An interesting, fictional take on the life of one of America’s favorite actresses, Grace Kelly. She struggles to break free from controlling parents and forge her own life. Although she marries her prince, the confinements of her marriage contract assure that she never truly succeeds at happily ever after. For readers who liked The Girls in the Picture (Benjamin) and A Touch of Stardust (Alcott).” —Debbie Lease, Hillsdale Public Library, Hillsdale, NJ

NoveList read-alike: Meet Me in Monaco by Hazel Gaynor

The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz 
by Erik Larson
“Once again Larson’s new book is nonfiction that is as hard to put down as the best fiction. The book recounts the early days of Churchill as prime minister when France fell to Germany and the British Empire stood alone against Hitler. For readers who like John M. Barry (The Great Influenza) and David King (Death in the City of Light).”—Celia Morse, Berkley Public Library, Berkley, MI

NoveList read-alike: Their Finest Hour by Winston Churchill

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the March LibraryReads list ends 2/1!

Check out which March titles we’re loving.

wwyr_march20_900

Announcing the February 2020 LibraryReads List!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
677 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *