9780812995220

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.

When a package chronicling Jack Shanley’s secret life arrives in the mail it’s addressed to his wife, but is delivered into the hands of their children. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can’t understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life—their brittleness, and their resilience.

“An expertly crafted story of a family in crisis . . . richly drawn and heartbreakingly sympathetic. Pierpont wields words like beautiful weapons. This short novel is a treat for fans of Jonathan Franzen, Jami Attenberg, and Emma Straub, and shows off an exciting new voice on the literary landscape.”Library Journal (starred review)

“The perennial theme of marital infidelity is given a brisk, insightful, and sophisticated turn in Pierpont’s impressive debut. . . . This novel leaves an indelible portrait of lives blown off course.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Read an Excerpt.

Click for More Information.

#FridayReads: Among the Ten Thousand Things

Category: #GoneReadingBook Promo
0
1133 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *