Untitled

We are thrilled to share the wonderful news that public library staff across the nation have selected four Random House titles for the June 2015 LibraryReads Top Ten list, including this month’s top pick!

Click to prepare for your June Readers’ Advisory.

The Truth According to Us: A Novel (#2)
by Annie Barrows (The Dial Press)

“It is 1938 in a rural West Virginia town and a young woman arrives to write the town’s history. Layla doesn’t really know what to expect from the town, and the town doesn’t know what to make of her. This is the heart of the South, the soul of small towns, where everyone looks out for you and knows your history. Sweet story tailor-made for fans of Billie Letts, Fannie Flagg, Pat Conroy and Harper Lee.”—Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX

The Little Paris Bookshop: A Novel (#4)
by Nina George (Crown)

“Quirky and delightful, Nina George’s book focuses on Jean Perdu, owner of the Literary Apothecary, a floating bookshop. When a new tenant in his apartment building sets in motion events that force Jean to re-evaluate his past, he finds himself floating off down the rivers of France in search of lost love, new love, and friends he didn’t know he needed.” —Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY

In the Unlikely Event: A Novel (#6)
by Judy Blume (Knopf)

“The obvious ‘unlikely events’ of Judy Blume’s latest–the three plane crashes afflicting Elizabeth, NJ in one horrifying winter–set the framework for everyday unlikely events around love, family, friendship, relating all that can go so wrong, and so right, with all three. Readers will enjoy the period detail and relatable characters that feature in this hybrid domestic/disaster tale.” —Becky Bowen, Kenton County Public Library, Independence, KY

Pirate Hunters: Treasure, Obsession, and the Search for a Legendary Pirate Ship (#10)
by Robert Kurson (Random House)

“This is the journey of Tracy Bowden, John Chatterton, and John Mattera as they follow a quest to find the sunken pirate ship named the Golden Fleece. I think anyone would be interested in the treasure of a famous buccaneer, Joseph Bannister. Many people, including me, have dreamed of digging up a treasure chest of gold. What could be more fun than traveling along with treasure hunters to find a lost pirate ship?” —Linda Payne, Lake Placid Memorial Library, Lake Placid, FL

Check out more Random House LibraryReads picks on Pinterest.

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the July LibraryReads list ends 5/20/15!

June 2015 LibraryReads Top Ten List Announced!

Category: Announcements
0
1301 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *