May'15_Random_Reads_email

With warmer weather comes incredible novels! Below you’ll find some of our favorites. Click through to request eGalleys, and if you love the read, please consider nominating one (or more) for LibraryReads! Remember voting for the May 2015 List ends on 3/20.

THE WATER KNIFE by Paolo Bacigalupi

Paolo Bacigalupi, New York Times-Bestselling author and National Book Award Finalist, dives once again onto our uncertain future with his first thriller for adults since his multi-award winning debut phenomenon The Windup Girl.

“Hugo and Nebula Award winner Bacigalupi (The Windup Girl) has written a fresh cautionary tale classic, depicting an America newly shaped by scarcity of our most vital resource. The pages practically turn themselves in a tense, taut plot of crosses and double-crosses, given added depth by riveting characters. This brutal near-future thriller seems so plausible in the world it depicts that you will want to stock up on bottled water.”—Library Journal (starred review)

THE KNOCKOFF by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza

An outrageously stylish, wickedly funny novel of fashion in the digital age, The Knockoff is the story of Imogen Tate, editor in chief of Glossy magazine, who finds her twentysomething former assistant Eve Morton plotting to knock Imogen off her pedestal, take over her job, and reduce the magazine, famous for its lavish 768-page September issue, into an app.

I TAKE YOU by Eliza Kennedy

Bridget Jones’s Diary meets Where’d You Go, Bernadette in this joyous and ribald debut, introducing a self-assured protagonist whose choices raise fresh questions about gender politics, monogamy and the true meaning of fidelity. Brilliantly executed and endlessly funny.

GIRL AT WAR by Sara Nović

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war. It’s a precocious novel by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

UPROOTED by Naomi Novik

Naomi Novik, author of the New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed Temeraire novels, introduces a bold new world rooted in folk stories and legends, as elemental as a Grimm fairy tale.

Agnieszka loves her quiet village, but the corrupted Wood stands on the border. Her people rely on a wizard to keep its powers at bay. For his help, the wizard demands one young woman to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

May Random Reads

Category: Staff Picks
0
1085 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *