April'15_Random_Reads_email

April brings a shower of fabulous reads. Below you’ll find some of our favorites. Click through to request eGalleys, and if you love the read, please consider nominating one (or more) for LibraryReads! Remember voting for the April List ends on 2/20.

SPINSTER: Making a Life of One’s Own by Kate Bolick
“Whom to marry, and when will it happen—these two questions define every woman’s existence.” So begins Spinster, a revelatory and slyly erudite look at the pleasures and possibilities of remaining single. Using her own experiences as a starting point, journalist and cultural critic Kate Bolick invites us into her carefully considered, passionately lived life, weaving together the past and present to examine why she—along with over 100 million American women, whose ranks keep growing—remains unmarried.

LIAR’S BENCH by Kim Michele Richardson
Kim Michele Richardson’s lush, beautifully written debut is set against a Southern backdrop passing uneasily from bigotry and brutality to hope. With its compelling mystery and complex yet relatable heroine, Liar’s Bench is a story of first love, raw courage, and truths that won’t be denied.

EMMA: A Modern Retelling by Alexander McCall Smith
The bestselling author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series deftly escorts Jane Austen’s beloved, meddlesome heroine into the twenty-first century in this delightfully inventive retelling.

Alexander McCall Smith’s gentle satire and cozy, old-fashioned sensibility prove to be the perfect match for Jane Austen’s wit and characters. Though carriages have been replaced by Mini Coopers and cups of tea with cappuccinos, Emma’s story is wonderfully timeless.

THE DREAM LOVER: A Novel by Elizabeth Berg
New York Times
bestselling author Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.

Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.

EARLY WARNING: A Novel by Jane Smiley
From the Pulitzer Prize winner: a journey through mid-century America, as lived by the extraordinary Langdon family we first met in Some Luck, an October 2014 LibraryReads Pick and national bestseller, published to rave reviews from coast to coast.

April Random Reads

Category: Staff Picks
0
1082 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *