Dec'14_Random_Reads_email

This December we’re closing the year strong with some fantastic reads. Take a peek below to see what we’re recommending.

And remember, all books published in December 2014 and January 2015 are eligible for the January LibraryReads List.  Voting for the January list doesn’t close until November 20th,  but don’t procrastinate, more great reads are on their way!

THE BAREFOOT QUEEN

Spain, 1748. Caridad is a recently freed Cuban slave wandering the streets of Seville. Her master is dead and she has nowhere to go. When, by chance, she meets Milagros Carmona—a spellbinding, rebellious gypsy—the two women become inseparable. Caridad is swept into an exotic fringe society full of romance and art, passion and dancing.

But their way of life changes instantly when gypsies are declared outlaws by royal mandate and their world as a free people becomes perilous.

Click to Request an eGalley.

VANESSA AND HER SISTER

For readers of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank, here is the first novel to offer a fascinating glimpse into the adult lives of sisters Virginia Woolf and Vanessa Bell, set against the backdrop of a new era—early 1900s London—and focusing on the perennially controversial and popular circle of artists and writers known as the Bloomsbury Group.

Click to Request an eGalley.

THE BISHOP’S WIFE

In this eye-opening mystery set in the heart of Mormon Utah, an LDS bishop’s wife suspects that her missing neighbor might have been murdered by her husband.

A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2014

“Harrison makes her adult debut with a stunning contemporary mystery set in Mormon country… [She] easily transports readers into a world most will find as unfamiliar as a foreign country.”  —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Click to Request an eGalley.

HOW TO BE BOTH

SHORT-LISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE!

How to be both is a novel all about art’s versatility. Borrowing from painting’s fresco technique to make an original literary double-take, it’s a fast-moving genre-bending conversation between forms, times, truths and fictions. There’s a Renaissance artist of the 1460s. There’s the child of a child of the 1960s. Two tales of love and injustice twist into a singular yarn where time gets timeless, structural gets playful, knowing gets mysterious, fictional gets real—and all life’s givens get given a second chance.

Click to Request an eGalley.

SWEET DAMAGE

An intense psychological drama about love, friendship and betrayal from the internationally bestselling author of Beautiful Malice. For readers of haunting suspense novels such as Before I Go to Sleep and fans of authors like Lisa Unger.

When Tim Ellison finds a cheap room to rent in his dream location, it seems nothing more than a wonderful stroke of luck. Despite the fact that the owner of the house, the mysterious Anna London, is unfriendly and withdrawn, he takes it. But when strange and terrifying things start happening in the house at night, Tim wonders if renting the room has been a terrible mistake.

Click to Request an eGalley.

Library Reads Logo-ColorAnd don’t forget to vote for the LibraryReads “Favorite of Favorites” list.

To celebrate the first year of LibraryReads, librarians are invited to vote on their 10 favorite titles from the September 2013 through September 2014 LibraryReads Lists.  The top ten vote-getters will be released on December 1st as the “Favorite of Favorites” List.

A Timeline For the Celebration:

Wednesday, October 15: “Favorite of Favorites” longlist votes due

Saturday, November 1: “Favorite of Favorites” shortlist votes due

Monday, December 1: “Favorite of Favorites” list released

What are you waiting for?  Vote today!

Our December Picks!

Category: Book PromoStaff Picks
0
1139 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *