Library Reads Logo-Color

Voting for the April LibraryReads list ends March 1.  What books will you cast your vote for this month?

Here are some staff favorites publishing this April. There’s still time to dip in; simply request an eGalley to get a sneak peek for yourself! Mention LibraryReads in your request to get a quick approval.

Astonish Me

“Readers who reveled in Shipstead’s sardonic comedy-of-manners debut will rejoice in the emotionally nuanced tale of barre-crossed lovers and the majestic, mysterious world of professional dance. A supple, daring, and vivid portrait of desire and betrayal.”
-Booklist (starred review)

“Readers who reveled in Shipstead’s sardonic comedy-of-manners debut will rejoice [for her next novel ASTONISH ME] the emotionally nuanced tale of barre-crossed lovers and the majestic, mysterious world of professional dance. A supple, daring, and vivid portrait of desire and betrayal.” Booklist (starred review)

Log in to Edelweiss to Request an eGalley.

Under Magnolia

“Like the rest of America, I fell in love with Tuscany and Italy when I read Frances Mayes’s wondrous memoir, Under the Tuscan Sun. She followed her Tuscan books with a beautiful novel called Swan, which alerted me to her southern heritage. In her new southern memoir, UNDER MAGNOLIA, Frances Mayes describes the birth of her extraordinary sensibility, the deep-pooled clarity of her writing, her giddy love of nature, and her sharp and satirical eye for those who brought her up to honorable womanhood in the tortured South of her girlhood. Her prose style is seamless to me and she writes in a royal style.” Pat Conroy, New York Times bestselling author of The Prince of Tides and The Death of Santini

Log in to Edelweiss to Request an eGalley.

The Word Exchange

In the not-so-distant future, the forecasted “death of print” has become a reality. A dystopian novel for the digital age, THE WORD EXCHANGE offers an inventive, suspenseful, and decidedly original vision of the dangers of technology and of the enduring power of the printed word.

“A wildly ambitious, darkly intellectual and inventive thriller about the intersection of language, technology and meaning.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Log in to Edelweiss to Request an eGalley.

Sous Chef

For fans of Heat and Kitchen Confidential comes SOUS CHEF, an intense and unflinching twenty-four-hour cycle in the life of a sous chef, from an up-and-coming literary talent and fifteen-year veteran of New York restaurant kitchens.

“Gibney is as skilled with words as he is with his 11-inch Sujihiki knife.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Log in to Edelweiss to Request an eGalley.

Thunderstruck & Other Stories

THUNDERSTRUCK AND OTHER STORIES is a brilliant new collection of short fiction from the National Book Award finalist and beloved author of The Giant’s House.

“McCracken paints [her characters] with such rich detail that it feels as if we must know them, after all-so immersed in their lives do we become in just a few pages.” —Booklist

Log in to Edelweiss to Request an eGalley.

library_reads_logo_website

Don’t forget to vote for your favorite LibraryReads title!

Not sure how to participate in LibraryReads? Learn more by visiting their website www.LibraryReads.org.

April LibraryReads Nominations Due by 3/1!

Category: Book PromoReviewsStaff Picks
0
1178 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *