Graphic Novel eggChair-2-150x150

Random House Gets Graphic…

[youtube 1tYtLeWN5NQ]

The concept is very simple,according to Neil Gaiman, give someone you know a scary book on Halloween.

 Random House Gets Graphic suggests The Spectral Engine, a perfect book to give away for All Hallows ReadthespectralengineA groundbreaking and stunningly illustrated literary graphic novel that weaves together historically documented Canadian ghost stories from across the centuries into a timeless narrative of life, death, and redemption.  Could there be a better way to celebrate the spookiest day of the year? 

Plot of The Spectra Engine: Decades after the Empress of Ireland, a luxury passenger steamboat, disappears into the dark waters of the St. Lawrence River along with 1,012 souls, the wreck of the ship continues to claim victims. A young escaped slave attempts to make the treacherous journey across the Detroit River to freedom via the Underground Railroad. A ghostly white horse is a heartbreaking reminder of a bloody conflict between two First Nations tribes. The triumphant completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway brings only tragedy to a Chinese railway worker. And in a poignant story of urban isolation and the desire for human connection, a young woman discovers that loneliness transcends death. By turns chilling and moving, this breathtaking book is a powerful reminder of the deeply human yearning to be remembered.

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Jeff Lemire’s Essex County, Charles Burns’s Black Hole, and Chester Brown’s national bestseller Louis Riel

Follow us on Twitter @RHGetsGraphic

Random House Gets Graphic…All Hallows Read

Category: Events
0
1063 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *