ratlinesLooking for some new noir crime fiction? Imagine a serial killer in 1963 Belfast is targeting former Nazis. Sound intriguing? Today we share an excerpt of the long-awaited first novel RATLINES which is part of the Lieutenant Albert Ryan series, by award-winning Northern Irish novelist Stuart Neville.

Ireland 1963. As the Irish people prepare to welcome President John F. Kennedy to the land of his ancestors, a German national is murdered in a seaside guesthouse. Lieutenant Albert Ryan, Directorate of Intelligence, is ordered to investigate. The German is the third foreigner to die within a few days, and Minister for Justice Charles Haughey wants the killing to end lest a shameful secret be exposed: the dead men were all Nazis granted asylum by the Irish government in the years following World War II.

A note from the killers is found on the dead German’s corpse, addressed to Colonel Otto Skorzeny, Hitler’s favorite commando, once called the most dangerous man in Europe. The note simply says: “We are coming for you.”

As Albert Ryan digs deeper into the case he discovers a network of former Nazis and collaborators, all presided over by Skorzeny from his country estate outside Dublin. When Ryan closes in on the killers, his loyalty is torn between country and conscience. Why must he protect the very people he fought against twenty years before? Ryan learns that Skorzeny might be a dangerous ally, but he is a deadly enemy.

Praise for Ratlines:

“Neville, whose debut, The Ghosts of Belfast, won the 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Best Mystery/Thriller, concocts a believable plot with an intriguing protagonist torn between duty to country and his distaste for Nazi criminals. Fans of Jack Higgins and Ken Follett will enjoy this novel.”
Library Journal

“Another moody winner mixes Nazis into Neville’s usual Irish noir.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Thrilling…. Readers will hope to see more of Ryan, a formidable yet damaged hero.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

Lunch Lit: Ratlines by Stuart Neville

Category: Book PromoReviews
0
1171 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *