holiday chairDay 8: Today the eight maids-a-milking have taken a break from their holiday merrymaking and dairy production duties to visit our offices for an informal book club to discuss today’s book giveaway THE BAKER’S DAUGHTER by Sarah McCoy. They are quite chatty talking about how they simply could not put it down.

We’d like to give you the same opportunity to enjoy The Baker’s Daughter by directing you to enter our 12 Days of Random House Library Marketing Giveaway here today.

thebaker'sdaughter

In the tradition of Sarah’s Key and Those Who Save Us, Sarah McCoy returns with a timely novel about the politics of exclusion, the terrible choices we face in wartime, and the redemptive power of love.

If you look out Reba Adams’s back door, you can see all the way to Mexico. Ciudad de Juarez is just over the Rio Grande river, and Reba’s boyfriend, Riki, an agent with the U.S. Border Patrol, makes sure that everyone stays on their respective sides. Reba is a journalist for the local paper, and while Riki finds comfort in strict rules and regulations, Reba knows that in every good story, some lines will be blurred.

Reba’s latest assignment is a feel-good Christmas piece about an elderly baker across town. The interview should take a few hours at most, but Elsie, owner of Elsie’s German Bakery, is no easy subject. She keeps turning the tables on Reba–if Reba and Riki are engaged, why doesn’t she wear his ring?–and Reba finds herself returning to the bakery again and again. For Elsie, Reba’s questions have brought back memories of a darker time: her life in Germany during the last desperate year of WWII. And as Elsie, Reba, and Riki’s lives become more intertwined, all three are forced to confront the uncomfortable truths of their pasts and seek out the courage to forgive.

eightmaids1

Day 8: 12 Days of Random House Library Marketing continues with THE BAKER'S DAUGHTER!!!

Category: Book PromoEvents
1
1798 views

1 comment

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *