somethingmissing

I pride myself on knowing our forthcoming list of books pretty well, but every once in awhile, one sneaks up on me.  That’s what happened when I read the Booklist starred review of Matthew Dicks’s first novel Something Missing.  Speaking of missing, how did I miss this one?  It was totally under my radar, so I dipped into it and couldn’t put it down.  The narrator is a charming thief with OCD tendencies, who becomes a guardian angel to the unwilling victims of his pilfering.  This delightful story is perfect for readers of  The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and fans of the TV show Monk.  It is being published as a trade paperback original, so it is a perfect selection for your library book groups.  You can view the Reader’s Guide here.

Booklist says, “…This is a splendid novel, written with loving attention to character and detail; Martin is so vividly realized that he threatens to step off the page and into the reader’s own living room. A loopier Bernie Rhodenbarr? A less lethal Dexter? Martin falls somewhere in between, but with a little word of mouth and some shrewd promotion, he could be the next big thing.”

I absolutely loved this book and have been recommending it to everyone I know.  Check out an excerpt here, and if you’re hooked, I have 10 copies of the ARE left and will send them to the first 10 people who leave a comment on this post.  Hopefully you will love it too and share it with your readers!

Scooped by Booklist: Something Missing

Category: ReviewsStaff Picks
13
2023 views

13 comments

  • Yay! Curious Incident was one of my favorite books of all time. Booklist is one of the things I miss because I no longer work in a public library ordering fiction. Sometimes I visit their website to check out reviews, etc.

  • That book sounds great! It’s a unique premise; very fun. I’d love to read it, if possible!

  • I can’t wait until July 14 to read Something Missing. if you have any copies left shoot me an email.

    Thanks
    Dave

  • Reading Booklist regularly is something I miss from my public library days. This book sounds good, I really enjoyed The Curious Incident…

  • This sounds great. I loved MONK and “the curious incident…” was a fantastic book.

  • Sounds great! Right up my alley –

  • I’d love to read this book. Also good by the Curious Incident author is A Spot of Bother.

  • Many thanks for the kind words about my book. The reviews by Booklist, Kirkus and Publisher’s Weekly have been thrilling, so to hear that they have brought more people to the book makes them that more rewarding. This is my first novel, and everything, from the moment it was purchased by Broadway up until now, has been a dream come true for me. To discover people who have already read and enjoyed the book is simply wonderful.

    My book club intends on reading the book in July as well, which should make for an interesting and potentially awkward evening for me!

    Thanks again!

    Matthew Dicks
    matthewdicks.com

  • Sounds like a great book! I’d love to read it!

  • I’d love to read this too! 🙂

  • Best of luck to you! There is definitely a lot to discuss, even more so since you will be there in person to answer questions. As a fan of the book, I shall continue the word of mouth promotion! And thanks to everyone who left comments, I’ll be gathering addresses and sending out AREs this week.

  • Sounds intriguing — great that there’s a reader’s guide already!

  • I read and really enjoyed this novel. It is very well-written humorous and entertaining. The author also did a very good job of creating a lovable character. The story very “put-together,” but not at all predictable. I predict, however, a great future for this author. I recommended this book to my local bookstore. Everyone should take the time to do the same!

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *