9780553419054
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

Set in the 1970s in a run-down, rainy industrial town, Jo Nesbo’s Macbeth centers around a police force struggling to shed an incessant drug problem. Duncan, chief of police, is idealistic and visionary, a dream to the townspeople but a nightmare for criminals. The drug trade is ruled by two drug lords, one of whom—a master of […]

9780399587924
From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

The author of The Garden of Small Beginnings returns with a hilarious and poignant new novel about four families, their neighborhood carpool, and the affair that changes everything. Below, Waxman composes a sonnet for librarians! At any given moment in other people’s houses, you can find…repressed hopes and dreams…moments of unexpected joy…someone making love on the floor to a […]

9780399585739
From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

No one knows what CIA desk jockey Zac Miller is capable of when a routine surveillance job becomes a do-or-die mission in the Middle East in David Ricciardi’s Warning Light, which Lee Child called “one of the best thrillers you’ll read this year.” It’s perfect for fans of Mark Greaney and Brad Taylor, as well as readers […]

when-katie
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

From the acclaimed author of The Assistants comes another gutsy book about the importance of women taking the reins–this time, when it comes to love, sex, and self-acceptance. When Katie Met Cassidy is a romantic comedy about gender and sexuality, and the need to figure out who we are in order to go after what we truly want. Here, Camille Perri […]

only-child
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

For fans of Room and the novels of Jodi Picoult, a dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children, narrated by a six-year-old boy who reminds us that sometimes the littlest bodies hold the biggest hearts, and the quietest voices speak the loudest. Here, Rhiannon Navin explains how the idea for her first novel […]

patriot-number-one
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

Patriot Number One is the deeply reported story of one indelible family transplanted from rural China to New York City, forging a life between two worlds. With a novelist’s eye for character and detail, Lauren Hilgers captures the joys and indignities of starting from scratch in a new country—and the stubborn allure of the American dream. […]

white-houses
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

On December 1st we hosted our fourth Open Book Event, a tristate program of book buzzes, panels, and presentations by four incredible authors. Today, we’re highlighting Amy Blooms’s talk about her new novel White Houses. For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok. From Washington, D.C. to […]