white-houses
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

On December 1st we hosted our fourth Open Book Event, a tristate program of book buzzes, panels, and presentations by four incredible authors. Today, we’re highlighting Amy Blooms’s talk about her new novel White Houses. For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok. From Washington, D.C. to […]

9780399584466
From the Author

Check out the video below from bestselling author David Bell, who explains how much libraries have played a part in his life and his career as an author. His newest novel Somebody’s Daughter is a pulse-racing suspense in which the life of a little girl rests in the hands of the father who never even knew she existed. Click to Watch […]

9780451488756
What We're Reading

Francesca Hornak thanks librarians for making her novel Seven Days of Us, a #1 LibraryReads pick! Hornak’s debut is a warm, wry, sharply observed debut novel about what happens when a family is forced to spend a week together in quarantine over the holidays. It’s Christmas, and for the first time in years the entire Birch family will be […]

9780735211179-1
From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

“The word ‘masterpiece’ has been cheapened by too many blurbs, but My Absolute Darling absolutely is one.” —Stephen King Click below to watch Gabriel Tallent speak to librarians about his brilliant and immersive, all-consuming debut about one fourteen-year-old girl’s heart-stopping fight for her own soul. Turtle Alveston is a survivor. At fourteen, she roams the woods along the […]

9780451488756
From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak is a warm, wry, sharply observed debut novel about what happens when a family is forced to spend a week together in quarantine over the holidays. Click below to watch her speech to librarians! It’s Christmas, and for the first time in years the entire Birch family will be […]

9781524732738
From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

The best work yet from the Pulitzer finalist and bestselling author of For the Relief of Unbearable Urges–a political thriller that unfolds in the highly charged territory of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and pivots on the complex relationship between a secret prisoner and his guard. A prisoner in a secret cell. The guard who has watched over […]

9780399588372
From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

Watch below for a video from Kelly Corrigan, the bestselling author of Glitter and Glue and The Middle Place. Her new book is Tell Me More, a warm, insightful look at the twelve phrases that strengthen and sustain our relationships. It’s a crazy idea: trying to name the phrases that make love and connection possible. But that’s just what Kelly […]

9780451498915
From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

Back in June, we hosted five authors at our BookExpo Librarian Author Breakfast. Throughout the week we’ll be sharing videos from their fabulous talks. First up is debut author Diksha Basu who discusses The Windfall, a heartfelt comedy of manners that tells the story of a family discovering what it means to “make it” in modern India. […]