only-child
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

For fans of Room and the novels of Jodi Picoult, a dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children, narrated by a six-year-old boy who reminds us that sometimes the littlest bodies hold the biggest hearts, and the quietest voices speak the loudest. Here, Rhiannon Navin explains how the idea for her first novel […]

patriot-number-one
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

Patriot Number One is the deeply reported story of one indelible family transplanted from rural China to New York City, forging a life between two worlds. With a novelist’s eye for character and detail, Lauren Hilgers captures the joys and indignities of starting from scratch in a new country—and the stubborn allure of the American dream. […]

white-houses
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

On December 1st we hosted our fourth Open Book Event, a tristate program of book buzzes, panels, and presentations by four incredible authors. Today, we’re highlighting Amy Blooms’s talk about her new novel White Houses. For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok. From Washington, D.C. to […]

9780735214347_33c8c
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

The celebrated author (whom The Boston Globe compared to Anne Tyler) of The Myth of You and Me explores an untraditional love story through the lens of a character actor who must finally become the hero of her own story. After a series of missteps in the face of his newfound fame, actor Charlie Outlaw flees to a remote […]

february-2018-lr
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the February 2018 LibraryReads Top Ten List! Click to Prepare for Your February Readers’ Advisory. The French Girl (#3) by Lexie Elliott “Six friends from Oxford University spend an idyllic week in the French countryside that ends with a missing neighbor, the enigmatic Severine. […]

what-will-you-read-for-april_-1
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Click to request eGalleys of our favorite April titles, and if you love the books, please consider nominating them for LibraryReads! Remember, voting for the April list ends on February 20th. Click to Request eGalleys of These and More April Titles. The Female Persuasion by Meg Wolitzer From the New York Times bestselling author of The Interestings, an electric, multilayered novel about ambition, […]