9780525558248
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

An immersive, moving story of a woman coming into her own at the dawn of the Second World War, from internationally bestselling author Tracy Chevalier 1932. After the Great War took both her beloved brother and her fiancé, Violet Speedwell has become a “surplus woman,” one of a generation doomed to a life of spinsterhood […]

tv
Books on FilmWhat We're Reading

Before you binge-watch, start binge-reading! These books are the perfect readalikes to pick up while your patrons eagerly await some of the most anticipated shows of the year. Click for Readalikes to Binge-read. If You Can’t Wait to Binge-watch Homeland, You’ll Love… Life Undercover by Amaryllis Fox Amaryllis Fox’s riveting memoir tells the story of her ten […]

9780525537090
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

The world’s most entertaining and useless self-help guide, from the brilliant mind behind the wildly popular webcomic xkcd and the #1 New York Times bestsellers What If? and Thing Explainer For any task you might want to do, there’s a right way, a wrong way, and a way so monumentally complex, excessive, and inadvisable that no one would ever try […]

august-libraryreads
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the August 2019 LibraryReads Top Ten List! Click to Prepare for Your August Readers’ Advisory. The Perfect Wife: A Novel by JP Delaney (HALL OF FAME) “Abbie wakes up with no memory of how she ended up in the hospital. Her tech wizard husband tells her that […]

9781524798956
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

When a group of outcasts with extraordinary abilities comes out of hiding, their clash with a violent society will spark a revolution—or an apocalypse. Avi Hirsch has always known his daughter was different. But when others with incredible, otherworldly gifts reveal themselves to the world, Avi realizes that her oddness is something more—that she is something more. […]

author-videos
Book ExtrasFrom the AuthorWhat We're Reading

We’ve been so lucky to have some incredible authors speak at librarian events over the past few months. Below, check out videos of their talks to hear from these authors in their own words. Click to Watch Authors Speak at Our ALA Annual 2019 Lunch. Click to Watch Authors Speak at Our 2019 BookExpo Breakfast. Click […]

9780399590597
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

In his boldly imagined first novel, Ta-Nehisi Coates, the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, brings home the most intimate evil of enslavement: the cleaving and separation of families.   Young Hiram Walker was born into bondage. When his mother was sold away, Hiram was robbed of all memory of her—but was gifted […]

copy-of-what-will-you-read-for-september_
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Click to request eGalleys of our favorite September titles, and if you love the books, please consider nominating them for LibraryReads! Remember, voting for the September list ends on August 1st. Click to Request eGalleys of These and More September Titles. The Secrets We Kept by Lara Prescott A thrilling tale of secretaries turned spies, of love and duty, and of sacrifice—inspired […]