feb-2020-lr
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the February 2020 LibraryReads Top Ten List! Click to Prepare for Your February Readers’ Advisory. The Sun Down Motel (Hall of Fame) by Simone St. James “Another chilling ghost story from St. James, who seems to surpass the level of shiver with each […]

9780385348713-2
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Devil in the White City and Dead Wake delivers a fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz On Winston Churchill’s first day as prime minister, Adolf Hitler invaded Holland and Belgium. Poland and Czechoslovakia had already fallen, and the Dunkirk evacuation was just two weeks away. For […]

9780593098400-1
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High—the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle—and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts. When a devoted teacher comes under pressure for […]

9780593129197
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

In this transporting debut novel, three friends venture into the most dangerous corners of a sprawling Indian city to find their missing classmate. Down market lanes crammed with too many people, dogs, and rickshaws, past stalls that smell of cardamom and sizzling oil, below a smoggy sky that doesn’t let through a single blade of […]

wwyr_march20_900
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Click to request eGalleys of our favorite March titles, and if you love the books, please consider nominating them for LibraryReads! Remember, voting for the March list ends on February 1st. Click to Request eGalleys of These and More March Titles. The Glass Hotel by Emily St. John Mandel From the award-winning author of Station Eleven (“Ingenious.” – The New York Times), an […]

9780525657217
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

“The Resisters is palpably loving, smart, funny, and desperately unsettling. The novel should be required reading for the country both as a cautionary tale and because it is a stone-cold masterpiece. This is Gish Jen’s moment. She has pitched a perfect game.” –Ann Patchett The time: not so long from now. The place: AutoAmerica. The land: […]

jan-2020-lr
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the January 2020 LibraryReads Top Ten List! Click to Prepare for Your January Readers’ Advisory. A Long Petal of the Sea: A Novel (HALL OF FAME) by Isabel Allende “A sweeping epic grounded in fact: In 1939, a Spanish family escapes the […]

9781984878618-1
Holds AlertWhat We're Reading

“A clever, uplifting book that entertains and makes you think.” –Sophie Kinsella, #1 New York Times bestselling author The story of a solitary green notebook that brings together six strangers and leads to unexpected friendship, and even love Julian Jessop, an eccentric, lonely artist and septuagenarian believes that most people aren’t really honest with each other. But […]