From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

On December 1st we hosted our fourth Open Book Event, a tristate program of book buzzes, panels, and presentations by four incredible authors. Today, we’re highlighting Amy Blooms’s talk about her new novel White Houses. For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok. From Washington, D.C. to […]

From the Author

Check out the video below from bestselling author David Bell, who explains how much libraries have played a part in his life and his career as an author. His newest novel Somebody’s Daughter is a pulse-racing suspense in which the life of a little girl rests in the hands of the father who never even knew she existed. Click to Watch […]

Author InterviewFrom the Author

Kimmery Martin’s debut novel The Queen of Hearts is set against a background of hospital rounds and life-or-death decisions that pulses with humor and empathy and explores the heart’s capacity for forgiveness. Fans of Grey’s Anatomy will love reading about best friends Zadie and Emma, and the one man whose surprising new presence in their life could ruin their […]

From the Author

Francesca Hornak joins Beaks & Geeks to talk about her debut novel, Seven Days of Us, which was a #1 LibraryReads pick for October. They discuss creaky family estates, awkward moments, gruesome diseases and much more. Click to Listen to an Interview with Francesca Hornak. Click to Learn More About Seven Days of Us. Click for a […]

From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

The Girls in the Picture is a fascinating novel of the friendship and creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female legends—screenwriter Frances Marion and superstar Mary Pickford—from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife. Below, read Melanie Benjamin’s letter to librarians about writing and researching her new novel. It is 1914, and […]

From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

Bewitching and playful, with its feet only slightly tethered to the world we know, The Sea Beast Takes a Lover explores hope, love, and loss across a series of surreal landscapes and wild metamorphoses. Here, Michael Andreasen, a UC Irvine MFA graduate and recent contributor to The New Yorker, writes a letter to librarians about the summer he lost […]

From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

Donna Seaman, Booklist Adult Books Editor and co-chair of the SJP Picks selection committee, spoke with Mohsin Hamid recently about his book Exit West and its selection as the second SJP Pick. “I have watched Sarah Jessica Parker and admired her work for many years, as so many of us have. She existed in a fictional world. And now […]

From the AuthorWhat We're Reading

Camille Bordas joins Beaks & Geeks to talk about the loneliness of academia, why she likes to imagine which tv shows her characters would watch, and her personal rules for fiction. Bordas is the author of How to Behave in a Crowd, a witty, heartfelt novel that brilliantly evokes the confusions of adolescence and marks the arrival […]