when-katie
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

From the acclaimed author of The Assistants comes another gutsy book about the importance of women taking the reins–this time, when it comes to love, sex, and self-acceptance. When Katie Met Cassidy is a romantic comedy about gender and sexuality, and the need to figure out who we are in order to go after what we truly want. Here, Camille Perri […]

only-child
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

For fans of Room and the novels of Jodi Picoult, a dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children, narrated by a six-year-old boy who reminds us that sometimes the littlest bodies hold the biggest hearts, and the quietest voices speak the loudest. Here, Rhiannon Navin explains how the idea for her first novel […]

patriot-number-one
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

Patriot Number One is the deeply reported story of one indelible family transplanted from rural China to New York City, forging a life between two worlds. With a novelist’s eye for character and detail, Lauren Hilgers captures the joys and indignities of starting from scratch in a new country—and the stubborn allure of the American dream. […]

white-houses
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

On December 1st we hosted our fourth Open Book Event, a tristate program of book buzzes, panels, and presentations by four incredible authors. Today, we’re highlighting Amy Blooms’s talk about her new novel White Houses. For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok. From Washington, D.C. to […]

9780399584466
From the Author

Check out the video below from bestselling author David Bell, who explains how much libraries have played a part in his life and his career as an author. His newest novel Somebody’s Daughter is a pulse-racing suspense in which the life of a little girl rests in the hands of the father who never even knew she existed. Click to Watch […]

kimmery-martin-the-queen-of-hearts
Author InterviewFrom the Author

Kimmery Martin’s debut novel The Queen of Hearts is set against a background of hospital rounds and life-or-death decisions that pulses with humor and empathy and explores the heart’s capacity for forgiveness. Fans of Grey’s Anatomy will love reading about best friends Zadie and Emma, and the one man whose surprising new presence in their life could ruin their […]

tune-in-tuesday-francesca-hornak
From the Author

Francesca Hornak joins Beaks & Geeks to talk about her debut novel, Seven Days of Us, which was a #1 LibraryReads pick for October. They discuss creaky family estates, awkward moments, gruesome diseases and much more. Click to Listen to an Interview with Francesca Hornak. Click to Learn More About Seven Days of Us. Click for a […]

9781101886809
From the AuthorHolds AlertWhat We're Reading

The Girls in the Picture is a fascinating novel of the friendship and creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female legends—screenwriter Frances Marion and superstar Mary Pickford—from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife. Below, read Melanie Benjamin’s letter to librarians about writing and researching her new novel. It is 1914, and […]